music player plays EVERYTHINGTips


Last Updated:

  1. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    I've searched for a solution to this but everyone just says to buy another music player, which I really want to avoid having to do.

    I've installed a few games that put sound effects on the SD card. The music player adds these to the playlist so I'm getting random sounds effects mixed with my music. I cannot find a way to tell the music player to JUST USE THE MUSIC FOLDER. Is there something I am missing or an add-on for the stock player?

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. RaiseUp151z

    RaiseUp151z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    32
    Bump

    Sent from Evolcious
     
  3. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    73
    Find where these sound effects are being stored. (you can use astro for this) Then create a file in that folder called ".nomedia" (without quotations)

    Your music player should no longer read these files.

    Sent from my Evo, using Tapatalk !
     
    unrealliving, AirdaleDucky and Rob_A like this.
  4. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    Yes, but then the app that uses those sounds will be screwed up, right?
     
  5. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    73
    Well it shouldnt. The file ".nomedia" is supposed to only tell the native android music player NOT to look in that folder for sounds.

    Its working well for me :)
     
    Rob_A likes this.
  6. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216

    But doesn't the app that uses those sound effects look in a specific folder (designated by the programmer)? And if that folder has been moved (inside the .nomedia folder) wouldn't that create problems for the app?

    Example: Hero of Sparta. Most of the sound effects are stored on the SD card.
     
  7. erikivy

    erikivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    37
    He didn't say change the name of the folder. He said create a file IN the folder called ".nomedia". This tells the OS not to include the folder when searching for media. It shouldn't affect the app that uses the folder.
     
    Rob_A likes this.
  8. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    oh, I see. lol

    Duh.

    Thanks m8. :D
     
  9. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    This isn't working for me. The stock music player and Music Mod are both picking up the game sounds. What kind of file is the .nomedia supposed to be?
     
  10. Kaiosama

    Kaiosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Restart the phone and when It boots back up the files shouldnt be picked up by the music player.
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    From what I've read it's just a .txt file.
     
  12. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Reboot didn't work. :confused:
     
  13. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Nothing is working for me.

    Uninstalled the game with the sounds and uninstalled Music Mod incase it was interfering. Re-installed the game and added .nomedia txt file to the folder with the sounds. Opened the stock music app and it sees the sound files still. Re-booted. Still sees them. Added a .nomedia to each parent folder, still sees them.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Ok, figured it out. I was creating a txt file called .nomedia but you have to remove the txt extension. It's not a .txt file it's a .nomedia file with out any extension. So simply, ".nomedia" not ".nomedia.txt".
     
  15. QuickDraw

    QuickDraw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    29

    :) I may be wrong but, isn't everything on the right side of the "." by definition the extension name, so ".nomedia" would in fact be the extension name.


    Again, I'm thinking in relation to DOS/WINDOWS/typical file extensions...etc., so could be/probably am WRONG. :) :confused:
     
  16. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    No, you're right. Everything on the right of the '.' is the extension. I was using notepad in Windows 7 to create the file and it was automatically adding the .txt extension to the file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...