New Optimus has GingerbreadGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. nightspd

    nightspd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    So has anyone checked out the new LG Optimus Slide, and if so, did you notice that it's shipping w/Gingerbread? I've been patient, but weren't we promised Gingerbread months ago?

    It's a cool lil phone, just a V w/slide capability. Otherwise i think it's just like our own little V.
     

    Advertisement
  2. melim

    melim Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    384
    There's a thread going about this in the VM forum already. Ask a mod to merge your thread with that one.
     
  3. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    I do not recall such a promise. At least not from Virgin Mobile. I do recall VM customers saying we were getting gingerbread.
     
  4. hiwatt

    hiwatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    48
    I was promised a pony and a snowmobile and never got those either.
     
    amk2795 likes this.
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    WOW, Virgin Mobile never promised me that!

    Virgin Mobile is not going to update this phone. Look around these threads and you can see how they do business. Updating this phone with Gingerbread is not in there business strategy.
     
  6. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    82
    They never promised me that either!!! And I agree 100% with you that it's not in their business strategy. People can wish... but it's more profit for VM if they only offered it with newer phones... business 101.
     
  7. kisaku1218

    kisaku1218 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    local best buy release it few days ago, I have one Optimus Slider with me now.

    Fast, smooth, with Android 2.3.

    only thing bad is battery, its 3G are so much faster than Triumph that I can run BT! it just feel like real triumph should do, fast, no lag, no bug.

    I use go widget and no UI, runs stock, thinking getting extended battery.
    my HTC G1 got extended battery, that thing is a true beast with overclock.
    and it last me 2 day no charge.
     
  8. AmishFury

    AmishFury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    31
    looking at the specs it's not just a V with slide out keyboard since it has a faster processor

    still looks like it has the pitiful internal storage of the V
     
  9. motoracer1486

    motoracer1486 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    29
    Is your foot in your mouth right now...?
     
  10. motoracer1486

    motoracer1486 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    29
    Nope, 512MB vs 256MB.
     
  11. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
  12. sfeems21

    sfeems21 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    im new to android period and this might be a dumb question, but I'm thinkin about gettin the optimus slider and im wanderin if you can get on the internet without connecting to wi-fi
     
  13. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    As long as you have a 3G data connection.
     
  14. KenC2

    KenC2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got one off the 'bay - new in sealed box. It is 2.3.4. And it is glitchy as it can possibly be.......Love the new screens though.

    Issues: just downloaded 6Gb of music to phone - it played once and now it says there are no songs....Keeps losing downloaded apps....may or may not transfer apps from internal memory to SD card (using 16GB sandisk - tried using the 32 GB - what a waste....)
     
  15. KenC2

    KenC2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got one off the 'bay - new in sealed box. It is 2.3.4. And it is glitchy as it can possibly be.......Love the new screens though.

    Issues: just downloaded 6Gb of music to phone - it palyed once and now it says there are no songs....Keeps losing downloaded apps....may or may not transfer apps from internal memory to SD card (using 16GB sandisk - tried using the 32 GB - what a waste....)
     
  16. ladonnast

    ladonnast New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...