New Software update-Anything New?


Last Updated:

  1. Jamma

    Jamma Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    So Androinica Noticed that there is another OTA update for unbranded HTC desires, and lo and behold, it is currently installing now :)

    HTC Desire in Europe gets OTA firmware update | larsa | Androinica

    Known features include:

    Android OS update patch
    Enhanced multi inbox Gmail support
    Improved RUS keyboard layout

    Anyone know of or can see anything major in this "oS update patch"
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jamma

    Jamma Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    P.S i should point out that this is for Froyo, this is another update for phones already running Froyo
     
  3. riki1kenobi

    riki1kenobi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    37
    Probly has a new patch to prevent rooting hidden somewhere inside ;)
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Great! Havent even had Froyo from T-mobile yet, and already there's an update!
     
  5. jblessing

    jblessing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it my imagination or does the user interface seem a whole lot snappier?
     
  6. Steve_S_T

    Steve_S_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    My WiFi isn't working since the update. Anybody else had this or any other problems?

    Steve.
     
  7. RetroDude

    RetroDude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    13


    Ill assume you debranded your handset at some point in the past, you need to have a gold card inserted when you update OTA.

    You can update with the new RUU thats available with the update included already.

    http://androidforums.com/1550450-post31.html

    That post gives the link to the RUU
     
    Steve_S_T likes this.
  8. el_jefe

    el_jefe Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can find the solution right here. All settings, data and apps will be kept! No loss what so ever! :D
     
    Steve_S_T likes this.
  9. Steve_S_T

    Steve_S_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks Retro Dude. So basically I need to put the micro sd card with the gold card on it back into the phone then install the linked software?

    Steve.
     
  10. el_jefe

    el_jefe Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Be aware that when you follow the procedure from RetroDude, you will erase everything on your phone!
     
  11. Aoden

    Aoden New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Auto-sync settings always seem to change with any updates (it had added stocks and facebook to auto-sync which I don't want it to do)

    I think that was the only setting that had changed after update. With the previous froyo update there were more changes in settings, always good to check them after any update.

    As for the update itself, it has added text-to-speech for english touch input (long press the EN button) and many have reported it to be faster (haven't really noticed myself), and of course those multiple inbox and rus keyboard things. If anyone else has noticed something more, please report :)
     
  12. eteyen1

    eteyen1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    was just about to go to bed, and turned my phone on to set my alarm, only to see a notification that an update was avaiable. Its downloaded now, and currently installing. Came on here to see if anyone has info on it. Not much at the moment, but it is 2 am so thats fair enough. I'll wait till later tomorrow to see if there's more info
     
  13. Narbs

    Narbs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seen 2 updates over the air on the htc site yet still not had an update currently 2.1 desire on Orange any reason for this ,am down to last. 16mb of internal memory want freedom of 2.2 ,someone please enlighten me
     
  14. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    it would be because your phones branded by orange, so when the update comes out you have to wait for orange to put their 'stamp' on it so to speak
     
  15. el_jefe

    el_jefe Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    I also noticed that there are 2 extra icons added to "All applications". I didn't find out which ones, but the game I usually play has moved two spots to the right...
     
  16. Narbs

    Narbs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers seems that Orange are dragging their ass's on this then
     
  17. Steve_S_T

    Steve_S_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    I knew that thanks, that's why I followed your link and did it that way. I did consider the other option for a while - the advantages being that I could put the Goldcard on the 16gb sd card that I use rather than the 4gb that I initially used to de-brand and that sometimes a fresh install seems to free up memory on the phone by clearing out clutter and making you reconsider the apps you have on the phone - but couldn't be bothered with all the extra time that process takes.

    Steve.
     
  18. Steve_S_T

    Steve_S_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a pretty rigid routine in the morning - check e-mails and Twitter then spend half an hour or so reading news feeds on Feed R. This usually takes my Desire battery from full to 85% or so, but this morning I only dropped down to 91%. Hardly scientific, reliable evidence I know, but it would be great if I really have gained some extra battery life from this update.
     
  19. Baz8755

    Baz8755 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Changes I have noticed so far

    -Snappier UI
    -Voice input Icon on Keyboard
    -Fixed dates always being displayed in US format in messages
    -They have done something to the news widget as it returned to default settings and used to occassionally crash sense UI, so hopefully it's fixed


    Baz
     
  20. mvh

    mvh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    No update available in Belgium at the moment. What's up with the wifi problems? Anybody encountered this?
     
  21. KTF

    KTF Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 3 UK unbranded/unlocked desire and no sign of the update yet. What network are people on that are getting it now?
     
  22. spinz78

    spinz78 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not available here in India :(
     
  23. Nightlegend

    Nightlegend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have o2 unbranded Desire and no sign of it for me either.
     
  24. Robo_#1

    Robo_#1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have an O2 business branded unit, it updated on monday along with my colueges, but unfortunately my unit has had to be returned to O2 and since getting my new one It doenst seem to recognise theres an update even though its running 2.1 ?
     
  25. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    oh man i have the wifi error too, do i really have to lose and wipe everything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...