• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root new to rooting -- do I need to?

Hello. I'm a newbie looking for advice and information.

I've got an Evo 4g, and have been relatively satisfied with it. Right now, my phone is pretty much sprint/factory default. I've had the phone since release day, and have applied all the OTA updates that have come out. (Android 2.3.5 / HBoot 2.18 Locked)

The main reason I've been thinking about rooting is to get rid of all the Sprint bloatware, but in doing some research, being able to upgrade to HTC Sense 3.0 and/or Ice Cream Sandwich (before Sprint/HTC make them available as an OTA) have arisen as secondary reasons. I have no need for wi-fi tethering, as I live/work/play in a part of Orlando that is further south than Sprint's 4g coverage. (Plus, I already have wifi available at home and at work)

I consider myself a reasonably tech-savvy user. I know what it means to have root/su access, but when it comes to the world of Android rooting, I find myself getting confused. I don't know which ROM is best to use, and once I pick a ROM, I'm not sure how to install (flash?) it on to my phone.

So, in short, my question is, do I need to root my phone? What is the absolute easiest way to do it? (I see a lot of "step by step" guides that tell me to do things that I'm not sure what they are ... nandroid? amon ra?) Once I do root, will everything still work?

Thanks in advance.

Do you NEED to root the phone? Of course not. I will say though, that now that I have rooted a device and seen the other side I will NEVER own a non-rooted phone again.

The ability to unchain the device from Sprints shackles and give it the increased performance and battery life is awesome.