No Barcode scanner app works on the Behold 2


Last Updated:

  1. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Self explanitory. The moment had a problem that seems to have been fixed. Anyone else having this issue.
     

    Advertisement
  2. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    nope! both shop savy and barcode reader work flawlessly on the behold 2. never had a single problem and always finds the product.
     
  3. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    does it constantly run the flash when trying?
     
  4. Hupperware

    Hupperware Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    False. Shop Savvy works
     
  5. briankh

    briankh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    All of the ones I have used work just fine.
     
  6. culo77

    culo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
  8. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    haha is this by chance a play on Dwight Shrute?!
     
  9. culo77

    culo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0

    i uninstalled it and re-downloaded it again its been working, you can try that.

    I just scanned my water bottle at my desk and it worked. I wonder if being a bright or dim lighted place and play tricks?
     
  10. mikenick42

    mikenick42 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just put my finger over the flash and it works fine.
     
  11. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    Or you can just turn the flash off ,, its set to auto by default ,, so if there's not enough light it will activate...
     
  12. Halcro 1

    Halcro 1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello new here... I have shop savvy and it works ,, but things ive scanned have no local input so as of now its kind of useless.. my .02.. So far the behlold 2 is ok I hope Tmo or Samsung gets 2.0...Hopefully soon
     
  13. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I ran into the same thing but this happens when it thinks its to dark and of course with the flash on so close can cause glare which causes it to turn off and then back on again and so forth. So plenty of light with no glare and it works for me
     
  14. tzpetlover

    tzpetlover New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that if you put the camera facing a bright light before you open the progam and leave it there while it opens that the flash will not go off that has worker all the time for me. If I didn't the flash would just keep shooting off. Hope that helps.:)
     
  15. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    both work fine for me not always well though if its flashing that means you need better lighting in the area you are doing it in.
     
  16. Kittyfae

    Kittyfae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just noticed this as well, fairly annoying since rarely do stores have perfect lighting for it to work. Hopefully there might be a fix for it, since it is really useful when it does work.

    It seems to get the white balance from when the app opens up. So if it thinks that the ambient light is to low it will trigger the flash wrong.* If you hold it to a bright light as you open it you can notice that it wont re-correct the white balance again.

    *I believe that this was talked about a bit in this thread: http://androidforums.com/samsung-behold-2/33289-behold-2-flashlight-interest.html (perhaps opening the flash handler and then when it closes or whatever it auto-opens it again). In reality, well human's reality, I have no idea what I am talking about. So I shall just mew. *mews*
     
  17. markanon

    markanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had better luck when I turn macro mode on. If you click on the camera settings, and go to page two, you can change the focus mode from AF to Macro.

    Also, I agree w/ the flash comment. If you make sure you're in good light, and turn off the flash, this helps too.


     
  18. Kittyfae

    Kittyfae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried all these tricks at the store last night and even though the flash didn't turn on, it would focus perfectly then snap back to out of focus before it could get a reading.

    With the galaxy rom... would this work any better or would I expect to see the same results?
     
  19. BRUNO

    BRUNO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having this problem with both Barcode Scanner and Shopsavvy. I don't know what kind of fingers you guys have, but blocking the flash sufficiently enough to stop the light without blocking the camera lens has been impossible. In short, this "trick" does not work... at least for me.

    Camera settings don't work, as they only apply to the camera app, and both scanner apps don't mention flash anywhere in their own settings.

    Tried re-installing and problem continues. Should I give up or are there some real solutions out there? :confused:
     
  20. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I've had success by pointing the camera at the brightest light in the roombefore scanning a bar code, and it's worked fairly well.
     
  21. markanon

    markanon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    The only real solution is to have bright, even lighting with macro mode selected in your camera.

    Wish there was a better answer, but that's the way it is.

    Ideally, macro mode should be selected for you when you go to scan a barcode. And ideally, that stupid focus assist wouldn't blast so much light when you're in macro mode, because it makes it impossible for the camera to take a photo. But that's expecting Samsung to put some thought into their product, which is asking a bit too much.




     

Share This Page

Loading...