OTA Modded to install over root


Last Updated:

  1. jratzo

    jratzo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Anyone know how long it will take for this to happen? I'd like to be able to installed the OTA without loosing root and having to wipe out my phone
     

    Advertisement
  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Pretty soon after the OTA happens, someone will be able to pull the OTA update when they get it to there phone, so devs can build into ROM, this is how it happened with the Droid Eris, I have no idea is this is the same technique used for us.
     
  3. jratzo

    jratzo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    But can this be installed as an update without having to flash an entire rom?
     
  4. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I don't understand your question, sorry.
     
  5. jratzo

    jratzo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    You said they would build it into a rom, I'm looking to do it as a manual OTA update, this way i dont have to back up and restore my phone data and apps
     
  6. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    Oh I see, yes I *THINK* the OTA update won't erase any of your data.
     
    jratzo likes this.
  7. Muerte_X

    Muerte_X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    11
    I haven't heard either way that the OTA would erase your data.

    The rooted version of the update was out yesterday ;) People make quick work of these. there's really no reason to do the OTA. You will lose root if you don't have s-off.

    [ROM] Incredible Froyo 3.21.605.1 *Likely-to-be Official OTA* (100% stock, rooted) - xda-developers There's a stock, completely unmodified one there, and a deodexed, zipaligned version there.

    There's at least one ROM already based on the new update with minor changes. I'm sure more will pop up soon.
     
  8. jratzo

    jratzo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    I saw that, but isn't that a full ROM? You still have to update the radio first...
     
  9. Muerte_X

    Muerte_X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you're on a 1.00 radio, then yes.

    You can install a ROM without wiping data, but it'll more than likely cause problems. I guess I missed the part about you not wanting to wipe your phone. The 2.2 upgrade changes the ROM image on your phone, and can't be made into an "update" that will keep your data intact.

    You can't update the ROM itself without wiping the data. I just looked into a bit, and it seems that the OTA update, even on a stock phone will wipe the data.

    If you haven't even upgraded your radio yet, you'll need to use unrevoked forever and upgrade the radio before using a 2.2 ROM.
     
  10. jratzo

    jratzo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    But the actually update wouldn't wipe anything out correct?

    I'm just afraid of wiping data, I have done nand backups and do back up with titanium.. How is the restore process with titanium? Is it like nothing ever happened?
     
  11. Muerte_X

    Muerte_X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't know honestly about the OTA, no one has posted yet if it wiped their data OTA. I suppose it depends on what verizon decided. It may or may not wipe all your data. If you use the RUU, it will for sure.

    It depends on what Verizon decided I guess. On some phones updating to 2.1 or 2.2 seems to wipe the data. I guess you'll just have to wait and see.

    titanium is supposed to be really easy, but I've heard of problems restoring 2.1 apps to a 2.2 rom.
     
  12. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    6
    I installed the ROM without wiping, and didn't loose anything, or even need to restore, but I was running Frankenrom b5 which was 2.2 and it was seamless.
     

Share This Page

Loading...