OTA Updates and rooting


Last Updated:

  1. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi

    I have a HTC Desire running Froyo on a branded 3 phone and wondered what the consequences regarding OTA updates were after rooting.

    1. Will I still be able to get OTA updates after just rooting my phone?
    2. Will rooting enable me to free any internal memory?
    3. If I debranded would I still get the OTA updates from HTC rather than the 3 variety?
    4. Once rooted and debranded would I be able to free more internal memory than just by rooting.

    Many thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    No
    Yes
    Yes if not rooted
    Not sure what you're asking. Debranding doesn't regain any space.

    To save space you need to root and custom Rom with a2SD+
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  3. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks Dan from a fellow Loiner.

    Is a stock rom the same as released by HTC without any branding?

    If so would this free any internal memory if I were to install it and from where?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Stock just means off the shelf. so a branded handsets stock Rom will be branded. There are generic stock roms with k
    Now
    branding. Installing this is debranding therefore reclaims np space. Apps om branded roms from the carrier reside om the system partition. System space can not be reused unless rooted.

    If space is your issue, rooting is your solution ;)
     
  5. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Dan

    I have rooted but I am struggling to find a way of freeing up space:confused:
     
  6. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    You can't per se, you need a ROM which uses A2SD+ as this moves all apps to your sd card and, in turn, frees up memory
     
  7. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks

    Can you suggest a generic stock rom which uses A2SD+ :D
     
  8. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    19
    Check my signature for the link.
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You have 2 options.

    1) flash a custom Rom with a2SD+ support and partition an ext partition on your SD card. This will make android think it is internal memory and all apps will move there automatically - intermediate level

    2) create a custom internal partition which requires s-off - advanced level

    Recommend 1st really.

    This is a good Rom is you want to keep sense

    [ROM] [29/10] Pre-rooted Stock Froyo (2.10.405.2) [Optional mods] - xda-developers


    Also read this but of course the first bit is done...

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things-root/214346-noobs-guide-rooting-williamj1.html
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  10. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    You can still get updates even rooted provided you have a working goldcard, I had stock Sense 2.09.405.8 rooted and I kept getting the update prompt for 2.10.405.2. Thing is when the OTA downloads and reboots the clockworkmod won't let it through until you turn off signature checking.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It can work but often they will remove root or screw up your Rom.

    Best just to say no, you can't
     
  12. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi

    Well all installed. No longer 3 branding but I am still only showing as having 17.99mb of internal memory .

    I installed the a2sd+, any ideas?
     
  13. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Which ROM did you install? And where did you check Internal Memory? A2SD+ is built to "lie" to the system. Yet, 17 Mb seems too little. Use QuickSystemInfoPRO or DiskUsage to get the info. They are usually acccurate-er
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  14. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi

    2.10.405.2-initd-rooted-stock-v2.zip (144.32 MB)

    Will install QuickSystemInfoPRO or DiskUsage after I've done her indoors tea:rolleyes:

    Thanks
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    ...and you partitioned the SD card too?
     
  16. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes 512mb 1st option, 0 2nd option
     
  17. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sd Card Storage
    Total 14.45GB, free 4.83GB

    A2SD Storage
    Information not available

    Internal Storage
    Total 148MB, Free 15.76MB

    System storage
    total 250MB, Free 9.05MB

    System cache
    Total 40.00MB, Free 31.09MB

    Something is not right. What should I do?
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Either the partition didn't work or the a2sd+ didnt install correctly.

    Download Minitool partition wizard on PC, reboot into recovery and mount SD as "USB storage". Only use minitool to see if it sees the partition. DO NOT use it to re-partition.
     
  19. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well here goes

    Disk 2

    F:FAT32 Capacity 14.46 GB Used 9.62 GB Unused 4.84 GB Status None Type Primary

    EXT3 Capacity 488.00 MB Used 38.69 MB Unused 449.31 MB Status None Type Primary


    Thanks
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    So quick system info still not seeing it?
     
  21. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    What would I see if there was a partition there?

    Just trying to repartition
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Total: 488MB, Free:409.31MB

    But something is used on the ext as the info you posted above??

    You may need to remove ext and reformat the whole card as FAT32 (backup first) unsing minitool, then repartition using rom manager.

    How did you partition in the first place by the way?
     
  23. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Using the instructions on here:eek:
     
  24. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wonder when following this bit

    6. Partition Micro sd by opening rom manager, press "flash custom recovery" then go down and press partition sd card. Set the first thing to 512mb, then the swap to 0, and hit go

    I do not see "flash custom recovery" option, but I do see Flash ClockworkMod recovery
     
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    AAhh. Yes that's what you want
     

Share This Page

Loading...