Perm Root but S still on?


Last Updated:

  1. Madwolf27

    Madwolf27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Maybe I am missing something, but I thought you had to have S=off for a persistant root? I have S=on AND a persistent root through visionary. It was ... odd. I did not turn off fast boot originally and the temp root severely lagged my phone. I killed the lag after disabling and re-enabling debugging, then ran the perm root. I have even pulled the battery, and the root is still there. Or maybe I am misreading things and s=off is completely separate than a persistent root?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    i believe they are different. You are using a temp root. In order to do a perm root you have a LOT more to do. I am in the same boat with the lag now. After a few minutes of loading the phone seems to fly again. Not too sure ill be doing a full blown perm root since this does exactly what i need.
     
  3. Madwolf27

    Madwolf27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    But it was my understanding that a temp root went away on a restart?
     
  4. dasudevil

    dasudevil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    45
    it does kinda... The new version of visionary r14 gives you the option to stay on when rebooted. Its a little check mark. I dont know how they do it but it works. If you want to completely remove the root they have an option to unroot at the bottom. I personally just do a factory reset.

    This is exactly what i did.

    Every time i reboot i still have root only issue is i have to remove all the crap apps each time using titanium.
     
  5. Madwolf27

    Madwolf27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    But, see, I did NOT check that box. It is still not checked.
     
  6. n1oty

    n1oty Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    After using Visionary for temp root, I also noticed this brief lag (usually shortly after starting up). I used SETCPU from the market to set the processor for "Performance", rather than "On Demand" and my lag disappears immediately.

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...