Phone Bricked itself, please help!Support


Last Updated:

  1. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have clockwork recovery installed, and was running running Ruby 1.1.1 when I started having some SD card troubles. The card was getting write protected so I couldn't delete anything off of it through a file explorer on the phone, or with either of my microSD adapters. I was rebooting the phone with no card in there today and it just hung on the white HTC Incredible boot screen.

    I tried going into clockwork and wiping everything and reinstalling Cyanogenmod 6, but now it just gets stuck on the cyanogenmod load screen.

    What can I do here? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

    Clockwork is throwing out a lot of errors about E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 (file exists) and CACHE:recovery/command.
     

    Advertisement
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    It's not bricked. Did you make a nandroid backup?
     
  3. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    I made a backup via Rom Manager (that's how I had been doing everything). I also tried restoring that via Clockwork recovery and it didn't do the trick either.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Ok, well you mentioned the SD problems, perhaps your card is corrupt? Do you have access to a card reader? If so, and if you can see the files on the card, I'd pull them off and put them on your computer's desktop. Then get a new card, format to FAT32 using the computer, drop the files onto it and retry the nand restore.

    I guess if you can't access the files, worst case you still get a new card and then put a rom onto the card and install from SD card using Clockwork. You'd have to rebuild your setup but it wouldn't be the worst thing.

    That's my thoughts anyway. Unless you can get the card recognized, you can't do much without a successful boot. Maybe somebody else will have another idea.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    I guess you could try pulling the files and reformatting your current card also, then replace files. I'm just not sure how much confidence I would have in that card if it were me. Still a possibility though.
     
  6. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    The card isn't fully corrupted, I just can't delete anything on it. But I have another card so I put both the backup I had and a cyanogenmod6 rom zip on there and just tried those out and I'm still getting stuck on the white boot screen.
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    That's interesting. Perhaps try a different rom. Has the white screen thing only been an issue since trying to flash Cyanogen? You wiping data/cache also?
     
  8. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, it was an issue when I had Ruby loaded. It just started out of nowhere a few days after noticing problems with the SD card. The only thing different when I got the white screen from when it was booting properly is that I didn't have the SD card in there when I rebooted.

    I've been wiping data and wiping cache before every attempt at recovery or loading a new ROM.

    What do these errors that I'm getting in clockwork mean?

    I appreciate your help btw, thanks.
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
  10. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay, that seems to have gotten rid of the errors in clockwork, but I still can't get Ruby or Cyanogen to boot, so I'm trying to do like it says and use a stock PB31IMG.zip, but HBOOT can't seem to recognize the file. I'm using this link:
    PB31IMG.zip - 4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download

    Which is from XDA (via PN31IMG.zip)

    It's definitely named properly and on the root of the good SD card I have. Why isn't HBOOT recognizing it and asking me to load it?

    edit: Restore through clockwork didn't work either.
     
  11. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    So here's the thing, I'm not sure that you have the same partition problems as mentioned in that thread. I just wanted to make it known.

    Personally, I'd probably try downgrading first and see if it all goes through. At this point, I'm not really sure if it'll even recognize the PB31IMG file in hboot. Are you S-off?
     
  12. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, I'm S-Off.
     
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    LOL. I wasn't ignoring your last post, we just posted at the same time. I was afraid of that. Are you 100% sure that your card is formatted to FAT32?
     
  14. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I just double checked, it's definitely FAT32. The other one is FAT32 as well, but because it's all ****ed up, if I try to add the PB31IMG.zip file, it looks like it's adding it, but if I check, the file is not actually there on the SD card because of the write protection that got stuck on it.
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    When you say it's named properly, does that mean you already know about the potential for accidentally naming it zip.zip? Depending on how your PC handles file extensions, you may have to name it PB31IMG and it auto-adds the .zip

    Just making sure.
     
  16. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    :p
    No, I have file extensions always displayed. It's definitely named properly (when I downloaded it was already named that way too).
     
  17. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    Quick question: How are you downloading your ROMs? Via wifi, wired, phone, etc?

    I would try downloading a known good, stable ROM (like SkyRaider or Adrynaline, or even the leak), make sure the sizes and MD5 matches (to eliminate it being a download error) and then move it to a different, formatted, SD card. Boot into HBoot, then put the card in. Go into recovery, clear cache and data, then under advanced, clear the kavic (or w/e it is) data, too.

    Then try installing zip from SD card and see if that doesn't do the trick. :)
     
  18. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope still not working, but I'm getting another partition error. This time it's E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 (file exists) when trying to wipe the Dalvik Cache and wipe data/factory reset.

    I'm also seeing "No app2sd partition found. Skipping format of /sd-ext", not sure if that's important.
     
  19. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    double post
     
  20. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    That's normal. One of the only normal things so far actually. I'm almost out of ideas honestly but I'll keep thinking and check back in later. Hopefully it's resolved by then. I just don't get how 2 cards could fail to read a freakin' image file. That's the real oddity here.

    Please feel free to consider me completely off my rocker, but the only idea I have left is to try yet another card. What's the odds you have two bad cards? Not real good, but it's just not adding up.
     
  21. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    How about this? Should I try to format this partition as ext2 as well?
     
  22. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Idk, I've never attempted what they did in post #7 of the Cyanogen thread I linked earlier. Also, I don't even have that file in my dev/block folder. Here's my contents:

    dm-0
    loop0
    loop1
    loop2
    loop3
    loop4
    loop5
    loop6
    loop7
    mmcblk0
    mmcblk0p1
    mmcblk0p2
    mmcblk0p3
    mmcblk1
    mmcblk1p1
    mtdblock0
    mtdblock1
    mtdblock2
    mtdblock3
    mtdblock4
    mtdblock5
    mtdblock6

    Note the lack of a mmcblk1p2. Not sure if that means anything b/c frankly I'm getting outside my realm of expertise once we start entering the dev folder.
     
  23. dmauro

    dmauro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm, I have the same, except I don't have those loops files. But I have all the same mmc blocks. Well, I'm trying to get another decent SD card. Verizon said they won't replace the other one. :/

    Thanks for your help though.
     
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    I wonder if the reason you have that file is b/c you last flashed a rom that supports Apps2SD? That might explain the difference more I think about it.

    Anyway, good luck with the card. I hope there isn't something wrong with the formatting on the INTERNAL storage. If another card fails, that's the only thing I could think of for repeated failure.
     
  25. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    So did you ever figure out what whats going on with your phone? As iowabowtech said, I don't have the necessary knowledge when it comes to delving deep inside the files, but these guys do:

    freenode Web IRC (qwebirc)

    (if your not familiar with irc, pick a nickname, type ##incredibleroms in the channel field)

    This is where most of the unrevoked team is. If anyone can help you out, they can.

    Good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...