poor wireless perf, DGL-4500, fixed!


Last Updated:

  1. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Switched from G&N to G alone and it went from slug slow to "wow that's fast".
     
    Advertisements
  2. VtotheZ

    VtotheZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Southern California
    How did you do this, mine SUCKS balls on my wifi, and I have a 10MB package... I get like 1.2mb on my droid when connected.

    I have a N series router, how do I disable it, I couldnt find it in my router settings...
     
  3. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    If you have a D-link DGL-4500:
    In the router config:
    Open the "Basic" tab, click on wireless, look in "wireless network settings" for "802.11 mode" change it to "802.11G only". Save changes.

    If you don't, post what make/model you have and see if someone can help you.

    Of course this sucks since you paid for an N router and only get G speeds on you N devices, but G is still way faster than my cablemodem connection.
     
  4. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Maryland
    The best router I ever used was one I didn't own. It was an Airport Extreme with simultaneous dual band.
     
  5. VtotheZ

    VtotheZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Southern California
    My router doesnt have an option to turn off the N portion.. Why does my Wifi SUCK so bad on my droid??? I have a 10mb connection, and constantly get speeds of 14-18mbps on speedtests, but when I use the droid, speedtests are like 1.2 mbps TOPS! :mad:
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    I have a DGL-4500 as well - I don't want to disable Wireless N as my Tablet PC supports N, and it is blazingly fast. G only is simply not really an option for me.

    However, I have to ask several things. First, which Hardware revision is your router, and second, which firmware are you using? I am using the latest 1.21 Beta for firmware, and my hardware rev is an A1 (which was an in warranty replacement for my original, also an A1, as it kept locking up every 2-3 days once I upgraded past firmware 1.16).

    I watch the D-Link forums on and off, and I will gladly test your theory - when I just ran Speed Test on my phone after I enabled Wireless, I saw it shoot as high as 6+ Mbps, but it settled in at 3.83 overall downstream, with a 1.01 upstream. I will test now and report right back how it seems to work with just G.
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    OK, I changed it and I saw the following:

    Peaked at over 9 Mbps, overall at 7.31 Mbps (downstream)
    Overall 1.11 Mbps (upstream)

    I suppose the upstream is a limitation of the DROID itself?

    There is significant improvement in DL speeds, but like I said, I hate not having N in my house. I'll bring this up at the D-Link forums to see if there is a known issue there, since the router is forced to run at 2.4 GHz only when using both N and G, whereas N supports 5 GHz as well, and G is the limiting / forcing factor.

    My guess is that it doesn't support true dual-band....which sucks for the amount that I paid for this after my DGL-4300 got hosed and stopped acting as a DCHP server for all my computers...never had a single problem with the 4300 for 6+ years, until it just up an died.

    However, since I have that DGL-4300 sitting here, and the DCHP over Wireless works (AFAICT) I might pull it out o storage to supply my DROID with G and leave N for my laptop, giving me (hopefully) the best of both worlds....
     
  8. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    johnlgalt;
    Thanks for jumping in here. I apprecaite the input.

    My hardware version is also A1, and I am running firmware version 1.21NA.
    When N is enabled, I can seldomn even complete Speedtest, but once in a great while it will come across with pretty good numbers......but the Droid almost never succeeds in anything but establishing a router link.

    With N disabled, I have no problems using my cablemodem connections and my numerous Speedtests show an average of 6Mbps down and 1Mbps up. Certainly faster than 3G, but then I am not complaining. :D

    Is that your real name?
    Rand fan here. :D
     
  9. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    They should be different. You, like me and most home users, probably do not have a symmetrical connection.

    While I would prefer N as well, since I paid for it, but then I don't do transfers between my desktop and the N laptop. This would be the only time I could actually utilize the throughput increase. G is a shitload faster than our connections to the outside world.....the laptop would never realize an improvement by switching back to N.
     
  10. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Just switched my routers wireless transmission rate from "best" to "54mbps" and ping time dropped a bit while speed jumped up to 9Mbps down. Up speed stayed a bit over 1Mbps.
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    I rarely have issues with SpeedTest, but my provider (Cox.net) has quietly upgraded us from our default 12 Mbps down package to where I am usually getting 18+ (I have gotten as high as 33).

    With regards to the laptop and connectivity, well, N is not only for speed for me - with N I have connectivity in my house from one end to the other (I have a 3400+ sq. ft Ranch style (single story) house, and my network equipment is all at one end of the house - poor planning when it was built back in the late 80s, but C'est la vie, no? Anyhoo, with N my Tablet gets a great connection even when I am in the den (aka family room) which is around 3 corners and well over 100 ft from the router - G barely gives me anything, but N screams along well.

    I think that my idea to resurrect the 4300 may not be so bad after all - then I could use the 4500 for N specific and the 4300 for G specific and end my misery on both machines. Since I can make the N operate on 5 GHz I can effectively have band separation from the G provided by the 4300 at 2.4 GHz vs the N provided by the 4500 @ 5 GHz, and I should have minimal issues with interference between the 2 devices. Since this also happens to be the room I sleep in, it would be perfect for my scenario.

    As for the alias, yes, very big Rand fan - when I first ventured online back in the day of 2400 baud modems, my first experience was with a local BBS system - it specifically asked me for an alias, and I chose johngalt. After the proliferation of the Internet, however, I found too many johngalts out there, so I rendered a variation on a theme that is oft stated (but actually untrue) from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, where Baum supposedly incremented the letters of the city of NY to derive OZ (he actually got it from his filing cabinet's lowest drawer, labeled O-Z). My real life middle initial is K, so I incremented it to L for John Galt, giving him (me) a middle initial heretofore unknown, so it is easier to find me around the web these days - John L. Galt aka johnlgalt.

    As for the values being different, yes, but notice that both of my upstream from the DROID are at 1.xx, very very close to each other. In contrast, check out my desktop performance:

    [​IMG]

    As for transfers between the laptop and the desktop - I *do* do a lot of transfers - as well as using Remote Desktop to control the desktop from another room whenever I need to....

    G versus N - no comparison when using RDP over wireless.

    Hence my proposal to bring the 4300 out of retirement (provided that the DCHP over wireless actually works). This should be fun!
     
  12. Rafael

    Rafael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Man, you have a speedy connection there!
    I can understand the need for speed if you do alot of transfers......were I doing the same my needs would be the same. Range with G covers my small house just fine so I am not giving anything up...so far.


    I have a spare G router as well, bought it for travel.
    I just may try what you are doing....using it as an AP for G-only devices.

    I have been a Rand fan for quite some time. You, like myself, must be ill with what is taking place these days. Atlas is in dire need of a shrug. :D
    Did you ever see the Gary Cooper film they made of Fountainhead?
    It has been on TV alot lately.
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    [OT]I never actually saw it - but there is a reason that it has been on TV lately...

    Atlas Shrugged (2011) - slated for a 2011 release.

    In the early or mid 2000s, there was talk at remaking The Fountainhead - but it seems that was scrapped for a rendition of Atlas Shrugged instead.[/OT]

    OK, back on topic - I think I have some time this weekend to implement my plans - plus, one family member is actually out of the house, so she cannot bitch moan and complain when I take the networks down multiple times in my testing feat.

    Once that is done I'll be golden. Since I actually have a remote LinkSys WRT54G in another part of the house, I suppose I'll need to add that to my DROID's repertoire of providers to achieve G access for my little phone....

    I'll post back with results soon enough.

    Oh, here are a couple more tests from just a couple of minutes ago:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Of course, I can't possibly achieve what Android Forums - View Profile: Fabolous gets, but still....
     

Share This Page

Loading...