Prepaid on Captivate


Last Updated:

  1. rfound

    rfound Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    So, looks like work is canceling my Cell plan, and I'd like to keep my cappy (which I bought, though on their contract).

    Is there a pre-paid low-cost solution to use the cappy on a prepaid carrier?

    If my company tells ATT to go F*^*& themselves on the cancellation fees, will ATT Blacklist the IMEI or anything, preventing me from using the captivate again?
     

    Advertisement
  2. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    sorry double post
     
  3. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    I just recently put a captivate on a prepaid plan the other day and it seemed to have worked fine. the customer hasnt come back yet, so im assuming all is good. I also managed to put an iphone on a prepaid using a dummy imei, but of course it has no data connection. (the captivate did though)
     
  4. jlambert1982

    jlambert1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry for the dumb question, but with which prepaid plan?
     
  5. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    any of them should work, I believe it was the $2/day plan
     
  6. jlambert1982

    jlambert1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    my bad. which provider? att prepaid? tmobile 2 go?
     
  7. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    Oh sorry, at&t, tmobile should work the same assume the captivate is unlocked
     
    jlambert1982 likes this.
  8. jlambert1982

    jlambert1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet. I happened on to a captivate, and go phone offers better service where i'm at. after reading about the imei blacklist, i am a little worried and wondered if i should just use tmobiles service, coverage be damned.

    thanks for your help
     
  9. helpless

    helpless New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    -----------
    How to do exactly that to my new captivate? whats "dummy imei" ?
    i need step by step instructions or I will get lost easy.
    Please!!!!!

    whats a black list? I just got my new captivate but I cant honor the contract.
     
  10. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Changing the IMEI is illegal in most countries and therefore is against forum rules to discuss. It's like forging the VIN# on your car.

    If you can't honor the contract then you shouldn't have bought the phone and agreed to a contract.
     

Share This Page

Loading...