Problems after 2.1 update


Last Updated:

  1. Teoreetik

    Teoreetik New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right.
    Im also having many problems after update to 2.1.

    1. (and most annoying)- Black screen on incoming calls. Phone just freezes on black screen and I just cant answer the phone or do anything else for that matter. Just have to remove the back cover and battery.

    2. lot less free memory after the update. using taskkiller but still- even after killing all non-system processes i have about 30MBs less memory

    3. google maps, footprints, people, peep, stocks, gmail and some others keep opening by themselves, though ive killed the apps with appkiller.

    4. so-many-mentioned lag on making calls. also. every-now-and-then while on call it makes another call to the same person and puts active one on hold...

    5. does not recocnise some contacts and just shows their numbers when on in or outgoing call.

    I
     

    Advertisement
  2. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Well first of all write to HTC about your problems, seriously .

    To 1. Seriously spam the hell out of HTC...

    To 2. Me after killing all those things I have 70-80MBs after fresh boot(are you sure you are using the right task killer?) and 50-60MBs when Hero runs for few hours
    I am not sure I even had under 30MBs memory.

    To 3. This was the same by 1.5 except maybe stocks.

    To 4. Have to learn to live with the lag ... wait few seconds before you realize you arent or are calling a person :) . And contact HTC

    To 5. this I dont have ... (pfew :p)
     
  3. Formsvacka

    Formsvacka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have three minor issues:

    1. Even though all my contacts still are linked to their respective Facebook accounts, only a few of them are displayed with their Facebook profile pictures.

    2. I haven't found a way to turn of the vibration feedback that I get when dialing. I could also live without the vibration when I connect a call.

    3. This is the most annoying of them all. Every time I go online with my phone, it tries to log in to a Google account with the email adress [username]@youtube.com. It doesn't work, apparently since the password is wrong or the account has been changed. I have a YouTube account, but since when does it come with an email adress? I've tried using the password for my YouTube account to complete the login and get rid of the constant error messages, but it doesn't work. I tried sending an email to this adress from my Hotmail adress to see if it even exists, which it doesn't. Can I remove this account from the sync list without screwing something up?
     
  4. lluisanunez

    lluisanunez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you tried Settings > Sound & display > Haptic feedback ?

    1. This problem is most annoying because it's what I was expecting the upgrade for: I can't add a second google account. I go to Gmail > accounts > Add account, I add my second gmail user and password, then I get the message:
    your phone needs to communicate with the google servers to set up your account.This may take up to five minutes
    And then in 1 minute or so:
    Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server
    This could be a temporary problem or your phone may not be provisioned for data services. If it continues, call customer care

    I'm writing to HTC customer care... :-(
    2. ILive wallpapers don't work, because the option "Live wallpapers" doesn't appear under Home > Menu > Wallpapers
     
  5. Formsvacka

    Formsvacka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I tried that, but it didn't work. I have no feedback whatsoever when I'm typing text messages, but I still get feedback when I dial. Seriously annoying.
     
  6. lluisanunez

    lluisanunez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is this another (somewhat hidden) setting:

    Settings > Language & Keyboard > Touch input > Text input > Vibrate when typing

    It works in my phone
     
  7. Formsvacka

    Formsvacka Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I have that feature disabled, and I still get the vibrate feedback. :/
     
  8. Sioux

    Sioux New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having mega problems as well. I can no longer connect to the Internet via my laptop while using my Hero as the modem. Before I got great speeds wherever I was.
    I cannot make outgoing calls from my missed calls list. I used to tap the name of the person whose call I'd missed and it would call them back. Now it just gives a quick vibrate as if it doesn't know what I'm trying to do, and does - nothing. :mad:
    There are other little niggles, but these 2 are the most annoying.
    Does anyone know how I can revert back tohow it was - or if this is even possible?
    Thanks,
     
  9. phatmamaslim

    phatmamaslim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    I wonder if they are working on a fix for all these problems. I would also like to know if there is a way to revert back to 1.5.:confused:
     
  10. gdavison

    gdavison New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in the same boat as original poster


    "4. so-many-mentioned lag on making calls. also. every-now-and-then while on call it makes another call to the same person and puts active one on hold... "

    Happens all the time .. 4 to 10 seconds between hitting a button and a call being made

    One other MAJOR problem I have is I can no longer accept an incoming call whne in my car (bluetooth conected to an AUDI MMI system) .. previous android version on this phone worked flawlessley .. now all I get is incoming call message, I hit the answer button in the car, connect and immediately drops .. I can make out going calls


    Need to replace phone or downgrade to previous Android Version somehow
     

Share This Page

Loading...