question about roms?


Last Updated:

  1. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok so i rooted my hero no serious problems...now i dont really understand how to do custom roms i would like to do the modaco rom...maybe the 2.1 if it is coming along good...
     

    Advertisement
  2. drewbdope

    drewbdope Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    most times after root all you need to do is put the zip file of the rom to the root of your sd then go into recovery (method varies with phones). do a system wipe and load any zip (or similar option depending on recovery image) and reboot.

    however, processes for some roms may vary. its always good to check out the XDA forums because most times they have instructions and requirements for roms. happy hunting.
     
  3. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Yeah I know what you mean. After I finally leaped into rooting my phone, I finished that and couldn't figure out exactly WHAT had to be done after to get these "custom Roms" loaded.

    As the last guy said, it's pretty simple. You'll download the file from the dev's website and then copy and paste the ZIP file to the base folder of your SD Card. then you shut phone off, and reboot in "recovery mode" by either holding HOME and END button or VOLUME DOWN and end button.

    It will open a screen that is very basic, but lists a couple of options. You'll need to find the one that says something like "Load: Choose zip" or something. Select it, then select the rom zip you installed on your SD card. then reboot.

    I personally recommend the Fresh 1.1 Rom, IT'S AMAZING. so fast, so clean, Sprint Bloatware gone. It has GREAT battery life, full day, still leaves me with 65% battery and ZERO lag. And you don't have to wipe your phone, Fresh can go on top of everything so you don't have to restore and data (but you should still make a back up).

    find it here: Downloads Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero
     
  4. nck4857

    nck4857 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I'm new to all this stuff, but Fresh1.1 is easy to install and FAST... Just make sure to do some backups every once in a while..!
     
  5. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm not all too familiar with rooting, but the more I keep reading about it, the more tempting it becomes.

    I'm going to look into the Fresh 1.1 ROM after work.
     
  6. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    You'll be glad you did. It's really not scary once you actually do it. It does seem scary prior to, since there are so many hundreds of threads and sites about I did this and... Help.. those people are goobers. you can handle it.
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    did Fresh put out a "de-fresh 1.1" pack yet? I'm not at all a fan of his icons at the top, nor am I experienced enough to mess with them myself.
     
  8. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    No De-fresh for 1.1 as of today's check. But I haven't noticed the "Freshhhh" on boot up in the past few days (Kind of stinks, it was a cool trade mark).

    But the Tsowen Task bar has been modified from it's original state in 1.0. I like it MUCH MORE now, then I did in 1.0, and would prefer it over standard task bar now with the revisions freshyill made.
     
  9. nck4857

    nck4857 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is a De-Fresh for 1.1 under the Pre-Kitchen on XDA...
     
  10. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Oh yeah that's right. I forgot about the summary I read from the Dev. I think all of there future rom mods will be handled through their "Pre-kitchen" utility. It's really kind of cool, being able to add, remove and modify parts of your custom rom. Neato!!:D
     
  11. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I'll have to take a look. The ROM mess has been confusing me a bit the past couple days, thank god for nandroid backups lol
     
  12. nck4857

    nck4857 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, it's all pretty cool.. I'm new to all this, but kinda getting the hang of it.. That Kitchen works good most of the time, but I tried changing a theme or something yesterday and it really screwed my phone up.. Luckily a Nanroid backup saved the day and i'm up and running smooth and fast today.. haha
     
  13. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok so if i copied everythin to my desktop and then did a data wipe and installed the madoco rom would i be able to just copy my stuff back over to the sd card?
     
  14. SeanFL

    SeanFL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    count me as one that is considering rooting and putting a new (fresh) rom on the sprint hero...but hasn't done it yet.

    could someone tell me this: if I root and do the proper backup stuff, can I get my hero back to exactly as it was before I rooted and put on a different rom? In other words, if I want it to be 'factory' fresh, can I get back with a restore or will it always have something else on it?

    thanks! Sean
     
  15. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    you can do a back up and if you dont like the rom you put on it you can just restore to that back up and it will remove the rom that way thats what i did last night when i put on the madoco rom and kept getting force closes....i think the only way to get back to a complete factory you would have to do a factory data reset...to do that go to settings-security-at the bottom it will say factory data reset.
     
  16. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    snap20100104_093848.jpg

    Look at my phone now :p. Now go ahead and root and flash yourself a nice FRESH rom. Like the guy said you can unroot all you have to do is run the RUU and it will set your phone to the factory settings.
     
  17. nck4857

    nck4857 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    That looks pretty sharp, how do you change the icons? I'm running Fresh1.1 if it matters........
     
  18. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    i just put fresh 1.1 on and its really nice im wondering where do you get the black wooden background thats on his thread with the screen shots

    EDIT nvm i found it on the background app under the pattern category
     
  19. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    Its in one of those pages i seen it one time they link it somewhere. Oh but im too lazy to search the whole thing. Also about the icon to the person above its not stable i am working on getting it to work better.
     
  20. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just put fresh 1.1 on and am wondering what took me so long! Thanks guys for encouraging me to take the plunge. This is awesome!
     
  21. SrtLovR

    SrtLovR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok im also new to this I already rooted my phone just so I could use WiFi Tether. But now I really want to do and different rom. Should I use fresh 1.1 or Android 2.1 beta?
     
  22. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Fresh 1.1 SrtLovR ..

    I haven't tried other ROMs myself, but Fresh 1.1 is the one for anybody that wants their phone to run perfectly smooth.
     
  23. SrtLovR

    SrtLovR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, im going to try it right now
     
  24. jersey221

    jersey221 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    i wouldnt use the 2.1 rom cause it requires a data wipe and not everything is working on it
     
  25. SrtLovR

    SrtLovR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like this it is so much faster. Do I need to keep doing back ups on this rom. If so how do I do it with out over righting my original rom that I backed up to my phone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...