Qwerty texting and apostrophes


Last Updated:

  1. ElJudge

    ElJudge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    After two years tied to a Nokia 6300 I've just made the move into the lovely, lovely world of smartphones and the Desire. Am totally amazed so far, and can't believe I survived up until this stage without it...however, have one issue, which is probably just a shortcut I don't know...

    With my old nokia, when texting with predictive text I could place a '.' where I wanted an apostrophe to be, and predictive text would realise. On the Desire I know I can hold down the long press on the letter C and get an apostrophe to appear, or I can type a word without it, and select the option with the apostrophe (i.e. type 'well' and select 'we'll'), but ideally I'd liked to be able to type quickly without having to do a long press...and sometimes the abbreviated word doesn't show up as an option...any ideas? Suggestions? Or had I better get over this one, tiny niggle :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. jaspabt1

    jaspabt1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    you might have to get over it :p. You can add custom words if it is not in the dictionary, so this shouldnt be a problem the second time you enter the word.
     
  3. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Under settings and keyboard enable suggest words, and spelling correction. It'll then work like the nokia's did ;)
     
  4. Rainbow Snake

    Rainbow Snake Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having lots of problems with apostrophes. I'm using the "phone" style keypad though.

    I've found that the predictive text usually requires you to put no punctuation in order to suggest the right word.

    eg typing the apostrophe in these words will lose the word you meant, requiring a backspace or confusion: "didn't", "isn't", "I'm" ... etc ...
    (but if you type them without the apostrophe, it will put one in)
     
  5. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, Rainbow Snake - I'm a bit of a pedant with these things and it seems typing the word without any punctuation is the best way as it then brings up the properly punctuated word as an option. Will just be a change of habit I suppose. The last couple of days I had been typing 'did' then entering n, the apostrophe and then the t seperately for example and it was fairly time consuming.
     
  6. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    16

Share This Page

Loading...