• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Reassure me, really disappointed with N7!

What can you do with the Ipad mini that you cant do with the Nexus 7?
As established already, use the Newstand.....so read newspapers and magazines. I have a print and digital subscription to a few photography magazines and could read them on my iPad, while my partner read the print edition. That is something I miss now I don't have an iPad :(. Here in the UK on Android, there isn't newspaper/magazines like in the US.

Also, for me personally, I've not found an app that even comes close to Noteshelf on iPad. S-Note on the Note 10.1 is very very good however but, Samsung exclusive, so I'm still yet to find a general Android app.

Upvote 0
As an old time developer (I started on an IBM mainframe!) the separation between the operating system and the applications seems obvious to me, and it wouldn't occur to me to criticise an operating system because an app I wanted wasn't available. That's a criticism of the app's developers not the OS. But then when I say "Android" I mean the OS, and maybe most people use it to mean the whole system: OS and apps.

Having said that, it's not unusual for an application to be an important factor in choosing the operating system. Going back to the early days of personal computers many Macs were sold solely because they would run Pagemaker and QuarkXPress (though both apps were eventually ported to Windows). If Newsstand is a must have app then buy an iOS device and no-one should criticise your decision.

Upvote 0
What can you do with the Ipad mini that you cant do with the Nexus 7?

I can't read newspapers, I can't download TV shows via an iTunes equivalent and I can't watch TV shows on 4OD, Sky Go or iPlayer (not major as I know apps for these will be produced in coming weeks/months).