Ringer volume low... sometimes...Support


Last Updated:

  1. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Very strange issue... If I go into the sounds and display and select my ringer its loud enough that I put the overall ringtone volume at one notch before the max. The weirdness starts when someone actually calls me. When I get a phone call the ringer sounds like its about half volume, so after the call I go an check and its still one notch from max. Now even weirder is all the clicks and noises throughout android are even quieter. The only way to make them as loud as they should be again seems to be opening voice to text then everything is the volume it should be. I don't have quiet ringtone when picked up turned on, and all my volumes are adjusted right. Anyone have any clues as to what I can try to fix this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    A reboot fixes it... until another call comes in and then the volume lowers again without actually moving the volume sliders...
     
  3. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have done a factory reset as well as applied this OTA floating around and the issue is still there. I just tried it on a friends incredible as well and apparently its a bug. All of you should try it. After setting a custom ringtone listen to how loud it is and then have someone call you and listen to the difference in volume. Then go into your messaging program and bring up the speech to text then just cancel it and the volume goes back to being louder. It's odd to say the least...


    Anyone out there have any fixes?
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    In the sound settings somewhere is an option to silence the phone when moved (or when you're "picking it up") Try disabling this and see if that doesn't take care of the issue.
     
  5. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    That is disabled on my phone already.
     
  6. StatusCheck

    StatusCheck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was going to post a similar question. My ringer volume magically changes on its own. I'm not pleased to see that this seems to be an ongoing problem for others.
     
  7. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24

    The actual volume bar indicating where the volume is at is not actually changing, the overall sound of everything is decreasing without actually moving the volume bars... Is this the same for you?
     
  8. StatusCheck

    StatusCheck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, my volume bar is actually changing. I can't remember how I figured this out (I don't actually get many calls since I do so much email) but something drove me to check the volume a couple times and I noticed the level changed. I kept turning it up to maximum and it kept dropping down. Because I get so few actual calls, I've barely had a chance to check the ringer volume when it actually rings.

    ETA: FWIW, I've had ringer issues from the start. At one point it somehow got set to vibrate-only, though I hadn't actually made that change. I figured this out after missing two calls and getting voicemails. I'm wondering if there is some automatic trigger I just haven't figured out yet that changes the ringer settings.
     
  9. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well installing the recent roms with froyo (skyraider) fixes the problem so the problem obviously lies within Android 2.1. I am surprised no one else is having this problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...