Rockplayer and Internal MemoryTips


Last Updated:

  1. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    68
    Just an FYI that is HUGE.....

    With the latest version of Rockplayer there is a menu setting for System Player. If you check that.....

    And use a file manager such as Astro.... Rockplayer shows up as an option....

    It also ALLOWS YOU TO ACCESS THE INTERNAL MEMORY for Rockplayer!

    Using the internal memory now while watching an xvid.
     

    Advertisement
    kayst and yojoe600 like this.
  2. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    that good to know
     
  3. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    ok, I'll ask, why is that huge?
    Does it add some options?
    Not being sarcastic , why is this a benny?
     
  4. whipstitch

    whipstitch Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's a benefit for me because I have 6GB of unused phone memory that I can fill up with videos.
     
  5. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    68
    Because for me and a lot of others that 8 gig of internal memory is just wasted space. I was using it for photos I was taking with the phone, but with the size of each pic it would take how many years to fill up? (not to mention you really should take the photos OFF the phone every now and then)....

    The faster speeds of the internal memory are probably (yes...I said probably) better for video than sd cards....(although it is still choking on 720p video - the sound gets garbled and the video plays choppy - although I think that's more of a decoder thing as it is using the processor to decode)

    The only other thing I would love to see a "move to internal memory" just like we have a "move to sdcard"
     
  6. akbose

    akbose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get Astro to pick Rockplayer as the program to open an avi with? Not getting that option even with system player mode checked in rockplayer.
     
  7. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    68
    I had to reboot the phone for it to work after I went into Rockplayer's menu and set it as system.

    If it still doesn't work you probably have another player set as default. You'd have to go into the settings to change that.
     
  8. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ahh.. I see said the blind man.
    coming from a winmo phone , by habit I try to put all I can on sd card.
    I didnt even think of that
     
  9. Bulldog

    Bulldog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    10
    Movies that play from SD are not playing from internal storage for me. Plus, navigating from Astro seems pretty clunky over browsing to the internal storage from within the player itself. Oh well, maybe next time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...