rom boot image prob


Last Updated:

  1. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    iv downloaded both defrost and ledroid and both files have a boot file image...
    im guessing that is the actual rom, but when i click on it it auto loads nero to burn the image. when i burnt it the disc was empty. iv also tried to mount the image with magic iso and power iso but it wouldent mount :confused:

    im sure im missing something simple... could some1 help me out please???

    im on the basic froyo rom for virgin phone and have my 16gig sd card as a gold card so should be all set
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    no, im afraid you are doing it wrong
    you do not unzip the package, leave it zipped and place it in the phones sdcard
    root your current rom so it applys clockwork recovery
    boot to recovery and go to apply a zip from sdcard
    choose zip to install
    select the rom you want.

    make sure you wipe the device before you apply a different rom though

    also be aware that there are no recent virgin ruu's about so currently you wont be able to return to virgin froyo if you dont like it
     
    dj.GETAFIX likes this.
  3. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    thanks....
    hit a problem when i applied clockwork recovery...
    was like it kept resetting and was in a loop..
    after that when i tried to start the phone it kept resetting over and over
    its ok now but im a bit worried about trying it again :(
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    was that after you did a backup with recovery?

    if so its normal, the 1st backup for some reason borks the os but after restoring it its fine
     
    dj.GETAFIX likes this.
  5. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    thanks so so much...
    thought i had nackered the phone compleatly....

    i ran the clockwork recovery again and was going to list all that was happening... and this time it seemed to go all the way to done :)

    im now installing leedroid and touch wood it will be happy days :D

    if it wasnt for your reply i would have given up so many thanks
     
  6. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    happy days :D

    felt a warm fuzzy feeling when the leedroid mod bit came up...
    just need to figure out how to use the sd card for main memory :p

    thanks
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    which version did you install
    a2sd or nona2sd?
    non a2sd uses froyo implementation and you move them by going to settings>applications> manage applications> click on the app and move to sdcard

    if its the a2sd version then you should have created an ext partition first before flashing then the rom just does it all for you (far more efficient)
     
  8. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    installed the LeeDrOiD_V2.2a_A2SD

    i have installed rom manager from the market and tried the partition sd card
    but keep getting a triangle with the ! in the middle

    am i better of restarting from scratch??

    if so what is best way to do this??

    thanks for your help :)
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    this happens because it cannot find the custom recovery it flashed
    make sure you flash clockwork from rom manager
    i know you already have it but this one is a "fake flash" and is only used for the rom manager program

    once you have partitioned the sdcard you will need to wipe/factory reset and then reflash the a2sd rom
     
  10. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    think i have it all sortied now...
    internal memory says:139 mb
    sd card (16gig): 14.35 total 14.19 avalible

    how can i tell if its all worked right??

    thanks for ur patience :rolleyes:
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    you cant directly unfortunately
    EDIT:
    quick system infro from market
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yes quick system info will tell you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...