[ROM] VanillaDroid v1.0


Last Updated:

  1. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    VanillaDroid v1.0

    Based on my eris21official-root ROM.

    What's new?
    - Sense removed (almost, had to keep a few things such as HtcContacts for FB syncing to work)
    - Android lockscreen
    - Vanilla keyboard
    - DialerOne (removed HTC dialer)
    - Nexus Music app replaced HTC music
    - Added PDFViewer (since I removed it from my first rom)
    - Wireless tethering installed stock
    - Live Wallpapers
    - Custom bootscreen
    - Better Alarm (Nexus Alarm app port, since HTC alarm won't work without the HTC lockscreen)
    - JIT dalvik executables (boosts performance, average 3.5Mflops vs 2.5Mflops without)
    - Other misc minor things

    I'm not guaranteeing EVERYTHING works 100% without Sense, but I haven't run into any problems myself. You'll notice there's almost 15MB free on your system partition as opposed to maybe 1 or 2MB free with most roms.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Bootscreen:
    [​IMG]

    Download:
    GrdLock's ROMs Download Page (VanillaDroidv1.zip)
    (Click a banner on the download page before you download to support me!)

    Installation:
    - Place file on sdcard
    - Reboot into recovery
    - Wipe data/dalvik
    - Flash from zip
     

    Advertisement
  2. eurotrash323

    eurotrash323 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    That is exactly what I've been looking for......very clean looking/sounding rom.
    One of these days (!!come on 2.1 root!!) I'll be installing this one :D
     
  3. ussj4brolli

    ussj4brolli Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to get sence back on this rom? I'm currently using your all in one right now and love it. this sounds like its faster then your other one. WOuld you be able to make one with
    All of your optimizations and speed increases but with sence? its what makes my eris amazing. thanks for the hard work!!!
     
  4. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    Sorry, but Sense cannot be put back into this ROM. That's the whole concept of "Vanilla" is to have the stock Android look. Other things such as JIT's and LWP's don't work right in Sense as well. Much of the optimization and customization comes solely from not having Sense.
     
  5. ///Nick

    ///Nick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way I can get a nontransparent version of that lock screen without having to use this rom?
     
  6. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    You can get the lockscreen by deleting HtcLockScreen.apk and .odex from /system/app and then rebooting, but there is no way to make the background non-transparent so far. I actually think I have a flash update to do that for you if you don't like using the command line on my website, android.grdlock.net

    It's in the Extras section, lockscreen-del.zip I think.
     
  7. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Nice. Right after I flashed to redo a ROM, this new one comes out. And you know I have to have every ROM you put out. Will give this one a look at later today after work. thanks again for your hard work
     
  8. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    FYI: Some people seem to be having download issues from my website, and their downloads getting cut off. I've reported this to my web host, they've said it's fixed, yet people are still having issues.

    I'm moving the website over to a new host this evening, so if you've been having issues, try back tomorrow morning or later tonight. :) Sorry! Web host's fault! ;)
     
  9. hagbardceline

    hagbardceline Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Flashed this ROM and my battery icon is all f*cked up in the notification bar.

    [​IMG]

    What's up with it?
     
  10. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    That's the battery charging icon. ;) Don't like it? :p (yes, seriously) You can flash my status icon update that's also on my website in my folder and it'll change more status icons and give a different battery icon as well.

    On another note, I finished moving my website over to a new host, so anyone who had download issues with the old site shouldn't have trouble anymore.
     
  11. hagbardceline

    hagbardceline Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah sorry didn't care for it... switched back over to Sense-able 2.0

    cheers
     
  12. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    I didn't check to see if there was a screenie of these updated icons. I guess I'll just havta flash and see for myself.

    Edit: Ewwwwwwww on updated icons....

    Edit 2 : EWW EWW get it off. How would I do this? I failed to do a nand backup beforehand.
     
  13. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
  14. alexhendershott

    alexhendershott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks GrdLock, so far I'm loving this ROM. :D
     
  15. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gridlock great rom, but I can seem to get the whitelist to work with root explorer. Can you help please.
     
  16. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    First thing you need to do is "adb shell" then "su" then wait for the Superuser popup, allow it. From then on it should work fine.
     
  17. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    9
    How many home screens are there?
     
  18. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    The ROM uses the standard Android Home which has 3 screens. You can still install your favorite home replacement ontop of it to get more screens. I use Helix Launcher.
     
  19. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nice rom.. I'll be doing some tweaking cause I was getting an annoying error with sensable.

    Only thing I can point out is now none of my contacts synced over and theres no widgets that I use :(

    I'm liking the customizability of this phone but the little things are starting to get annoying again.
     
  20. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    906
    Is it possible to disable or delete the startup sounds without having to put the phone in silent mode before rebooting?
     
  21. Unheard

    Unheard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nice Dialer port grd ;)
     
  22. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks GrdLock, you truly are a one stop shop.
     
  23. dmullins80

    dmullins80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grdlock I did what you said and this happened:

    It first said
    Export PATH= /deta/local/bin:$PATH
    $ adb shell
    Adb permission denied
    $ such

    After that such scren dent do any thing but stay black.
    What do you thnk i did wrong?

    Sorry Not such but, su

    Also , the key board has alot of lag in it.
     
  24. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    Delete the file /system/media/bootscreen/boot.mp3. You'll have to adb shell into it, su, then remount the file system before you can remove that file with "rm".
     
    TheAtheistReverend likes this.
  25. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    906
    Sweet.
    Figured it would be that easy if I asked...
    Could I replace it with any short mp3 I like? Assuming it needs to be just a couple sec long.
     

Share This Page

Loading...