Rooting for Mac


Last Updated:

  1. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I havn't seen any guides on how to Root when using a Mac. I got my phone the 1st of july and applied the update. I see the new fix for this new update is out, but does anybody have a guide for it on a mac?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    No need to install any USB drivers

    No need for a hex editor to write the goldcard image to the micro SC card.

    Use the *nix command dd from terminal.app. specfically:

    Code (Text):
    1. sudo dd bs=512 if=~/Downloads/goldcard.img of=/dev/disk1
    replacing of course the path here with your path and disk

    Source and more details (guide is written specifically for Japanese Sapphire/Magic aka ht-03a but making the goldcard is not specific)
     
  3. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'm a noob when it comes to rooting. I need a tutorial on how to root (latest build) 1.47.651.1, unlock nand protection (full access) while using a Mac.

    I'm not sure what a goldcard image is, I've been looking for a Mac specific video tutorial.
     
  4. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oops. My fault spank me. :eek: You don't need a gold card for the Evo. That is awesome. (a goldcard is a specially formatted micro SD card that tricks the SPL in to executing code that the security checks would normally not allow)

    Here is the latest guide, which exploits a flash vulnerability (go figure :rolleyes:).

    ---==={ROOT GUIDE}===--- | 1.47.651.1 ROOT method | - xda-developers

    This is by far the simplest guide I have ever seen thanks to adobe!

    There is also a video tutorial.

    The guide on XDA is completely non specific to macs or PCs. When it says "PC" just mentally replace that with mac. Be sure to read read and read some more before starting

    0. Make sure you have an Intel mac

    1. You need to setup the SDK and a java environment. There are plenty of mac guides for this on the web.

    After you setup the SDK and java environment, you need to add the tools folder of the SDK to your path. Open up Terminal.app and type the following
    Code (Text):
    1. ls -a ~
    If you don't see a file called ".bash_profile", then you will need to create one. If you are not comfortable with vi, you can you TextEdit.app. Create a new text file (Format > Make Plain Text) and type in the following text, using of course the path to where ever you saved the SDK and the name of the SDK folder if it is different than the example below.
    Code (Text):
    1. export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/SBS/Documents/android-sdk-mac_86/tools
    Now save the file as .bash_profile (the dot is important) and say OK to the warning about this creating a system file or something like that. Do not add the extension txt, though sometimes Mac OS will add it anyway so you need to verify the name of the file.
    Code (Text):
    1. ls -a ~
    If you see .bash_profile.txt, do the following.
    Code (Text):
    1. mv .bash_profle.txt .bash_profile
    Now you should be able to type in adb commands without having to switch to the tools directory.

    2. Connect your phone by USB

    3. in terminal.app on the mac type
    Code (Text):
    1. adb devices
    to confirm you phone is connected.

    4. begin following the directions on the above XDA site.
    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    You type adb shell in terminal.app and what happens is it opens an interactive shell on your handset. You are typing commands directly in to the phone. To exit the shell type.
    Code (Text):
    1. exit
    EXTRA TIPS: When at all possible verify the md5 checksums of every file before flashing to your phone or using that file to execute commands on the phone. The current SDK has the following checksum:

    c92abf66a82c7a3f2b8493ebe025dd22

    After downloading the SDK do this in terminal:
    Code (Text):
    1. md5 ~/Downloads/android-sdk_r06-mac_86.zip
    verify you get the correct hash.

    Code (Text):
    1. MD5 (/Users/SBS/Downloads/android-sdk_r06-mac_86.zip) =
    2. c92abf66a82c7a3f2b8493ebe025dd22
    Do this with every file that has a checksum

    HTH.
     
  5. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill have to try this tonight, Thanks!
     
  6. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    is it not necessary to install SDK Components when setting up the SDK? If so which one do I need 2.1?
     
  7. Polarbearz

    Polarbearz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I am TOTALLY new at this whole mess.
    I have a mac.
    I am trying to root, I have the newest update.
    I downloaded the MAC SDK
    When I open terminal and type ls -a ~
    I see no .bash_profile, just .bash_history
    So I created a file saved it in the same file as my mac sdk.
    But I am stuck there.
    What am I missing here
    (other than my intelligence)
     
  8. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have the same problem my friend.
     
  9. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    The starter package comes with SDK tools, which should be all you need.

    Sorry, I wasn't clear. In unix, the tilde ~ is a shortcut to your home folder. when I said do ls -a ~, that means to show invisible files in your home folder. If you don't see .bash_profile, you need to create it in your home folder.

    so you should have something like this.
    Code (Text):
    1. ls -a ~
    2. .           .config         Downloads
    3. ..          .cups           Library
    4. .CFUserTextEncoding .dvdcss         Movies
    5. .DS_Store       .fontconfig     Music
    6. .Trash          .lesshst        Pictures
    7. .Xauthority     .local          Public
    8. .android        .ssh            Sites
    9. .bash_history       Desktop         Wine Files
    10. [B].bash_profile[/B]        Documents
    There are other ways to add commands to your path, but for people that aren't familiar with unix, this is the best way because it only has you mucking around in your home folder, where the other ways have doing things in the root folder (highest level directory).

    you can trouble shoot by doing
    Code (Text):
    1. echo $PATH
    Which will return all folders that are in your path. If you don't see the SDK tools folder then it is not in your path.
    Code (Text):
    1. /usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:[B]/Users/SBS/Documents/android-sdk-mac_x86-1.6_r1/tools[/B]
    You may need to quit terminal and start a new session for the setting to take effect.

    If you just can't get it to work, you can do everything from within the tools directory by prefacing each and every command with ./

    This forces tells the computer to look in the current directory for the command.
    Code (Text):
    1. cd ~/Documents/android-sdk-mac_x86-1.6_r1/tools/
    2. ./adb devices
    3. List of devices attached
    4. K???    device
    cd is the command to change directory. (since rooting, I get a funky number when I do adb devices, it shouldn't be "K???" but that doesn't cause any issues.

    EDIT: for clarity the last example using ./ was done after I purposely renamed my .bash_profile file so that adb was NOT in the path.
     
  10. Polarbearz

    Polarbearz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got all the way to step 11 where you have to reboot to flash the pc36img
    I get the "this version is older than the main version" error!
    According to the end of the post this is a common error. I don't quite understand though. It says the error is caused when your SD card isn't mounted properly and you can push the files manually. The files are on my phone.
    So, I do not know where to go from here.
    Help?
     
  11. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can help you with the mac specific steps but not with general rooting because I don't even have an evo.

    adb push is used to move files from the computer to either the nand on the phone or the SD card, so for example (and this is just an example), if you wanted to push a file (let's call the file data.img) in your Documents folder, to /data/local on the phone you would do this
    Code (Text):
    1. cd ~/Documents
    2. adb push data.img /data/local
    Be careful, though.
     
  12. ivlillion

    ivlillion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah i'm in the same boat. no root for Mac? i think i am going to go to best buy and try to use one of their computers. we will see. but still i would like to see a guide for mac.
     
  13. ivlillion

    ivlillion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah man, im in same boat. anyone out there going to make a guide for mac?
     
  14. ivlillion

    ivlillion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    at least u make it to step 11. i don't understand any of this
     
  15. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    SBS,

    I see the .bash_profile now. But when I type in 'adb devices' nothing shows up under 'List of devices attached.'

    However, when I typed in the code, 'echo $PATH' the SDK tools are in my path.
     
  16. mac_moment

    mac_moment Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I strictly use a Mac and have had no issues. I downloaded the SDK and placed only the tools folder on my desktop. Open terminal you should see:

    yourcomputername:~ youraccount$

    type cd [space][now drag the tools folder to the cursor]

    you should now see:

    yourcomputername:~ youraccount$ cd /Users/[youraccount]/Desktop/tools
    hit enter and you will see:
    yourcomputername:tools youraccount$

    now to execute any adb command just type [./adb shell]

    your phone must be connected at the point you start the adb commands.
     
  17. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    mac_ moment, thanks that worked.
     
  18. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did you enable USB debugging on the phone? If you don't then you can't connect to you computer. Obviously phone must be on. Also try reconnecting the cable.

    If you got output from adb devices, that means you've successfully added the tools folder to your path, as you confirmed with echo. If it wasn't added to your path, you would have gotten "-bash: adb: command not found" instead of output indicating no devices are connected.

    This is basically what I said previously that you can force bash to look in the current directory with ./

    But you will always have to be in the tools directory to execute commands, so it is much better to add tools to your path.
     
  19. SBS

    SBS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
  20. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so i did what mac moment said, but when i try and do the
    sh /sdcard/part1

    step it says No such file or directory
     
  21. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got it. Thanks everyone
     
  22. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant seem to get the recovery step to work. I open up the mac script when im in recovery mode and nothing happens.
     
  23. mac_moment

    mac_moment Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Mac script specifically...
     
  24. bishaudio

    bishaudio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I opened up recovery-mac.sh and tried running adb-mac as well. Neither seemed to work. But i ended up following the video tutorial and went a different route i guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...