S4 screenshot not working??Support


Last Updated:

  1. bs872

    bs872 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm a week into this phone and screenshots originally worked. I tried one today and it's a no go. I'm using the power/home buttons.

    Might something have accidentally disabled? This is very frustrating. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
    teakietot likes this.
  2. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    5,169
    There are 3 methods of capturing a screenshot, depending on your model of Galaxy S4 and firmware.

    This link describes 2 methods, with video...

    Samsung Galaxy S4: How to take a screenshot

    You can also try...

    POWER + VOLUME DOWN buttons together
     
  3. bs872

    bs872 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    I saw that before posting. It's just stopped working and those hand motions are essentially a gimmick, in my opinion.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Have you tried rebooting your phone and seeing if it works after that?
     
  5. bs872

    bs872 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just pulled the battery for a few minutes. Nothing.

    How does it just stop working? Odd...
     
  6. bs872

    bs872 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Pressing both buttons brings me to a page that shows which apps are running.
     
  7. Goodspike

    Goodspike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    143
    That's what my phone does when I just hit the home button. I wonder if your power button is getting weak or if your case is interfering with hitting the power button?

    BTW, I agree with you on the gimmicky comment above.
     
  8. Fish44

    Fish44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got mine working after much trial. Key is to hold both for at least 1 second.

    Cheers.
     
  9. salgal1313

    salgal1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have been having the same screenshot issues with my S4Active ever since getting it. It works like a charm about once out of every fifty times. The other 49, I can palm swipe, power+home, and dance circles around it and it won't do a thing. I have motions active, I am touching my palm (heck, just tried to recalibrate and it would not even do the test-screenshot when I did that). I have, quite literally, spent 30 minutes on a stairclimber trying to do a screenshot the entire time.

    I have tried to restart the phone and re-attempt the screenshot. Same thing applies.

    Any other suggestions? Is there something else that can be calibrated?
    Thanks in advance.
     
    teakietot likes this.
  10. electricpete

    electricpete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    914
    Don't know why power/home didn't work. It does tend to be a little sensitive to technique/timing.

    If you are rooted, think about installing xposed framework. Then install the xblast module and you can either
    1-create status bar gesture to initiate screen shot.
    2-enable advanced power button menu including screenshot

    The first is still a little sensitive to timing.

    The second takes a little longer but works every time

    There are a lot of other useful things on xposed, including xblast and wanam and xuimod. Check out the developer of any module carefully because xposed may open some security doors
     
    salgal1313 likes this.
  11. salgal1313

    salgal1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am not rooted, so out of luck there. Maybe one day I will get smart and root my phone :)

    I have tried to do the home+power button with the case on or off, and the situation is the same. It is strange the way that it refuses to screenshot. I had the S2 previous to this, so I know how to do it...it just is not working. One day...one day...
     
  12. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    5,169
    Have you also tried...

    POWER + VOLUME DOWN
     
  13. salgal1313

    salgal1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that does not work. It just sends the volume down.
     
    teakietot likes this.
  14. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Its tricky.. It took me a few attempts but power and vol down will take a screen shot.
     
    salgal1313 likes this.
  15. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    5,169
    It's all about t-t-t-timing with the multi button screenshot methods. One also needs to be delicate and treat the process like a woman and not like a bull in a china shop. Which is the mistake I made to begin with. :)
     
  16. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've never really had a need for screen shots, what are you guys sending out?
     
  17. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have taken them of all my screens in case I need to reset. I have saved the pics in Dropbox just for future reference of how my apps are laid out. I am OCD about my layout and this will let me be a "happy camper" if something happens...LOL
     
    Funderbolt likes this.
  18. Mr_H

    Mr_H New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    To all of you horrible people that keep saying to hold home / power... its been said numerous times, and its not helpful.
    To people like me who actually had this problem, I fixed it by turning off my phone... i had to remove the battery to do so, the power button wouldnt even turn it off.
     
  19. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    If what people suggest, doesn't work for you, that doesn't mean they are "horrible people". Your comment really didn't add anything to the thread.
     
    teakietot likes this.
  20. teakietot

    teakietot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    After the last update my phone refuses to do screenshots. I contacted AT&T and they were unable to solve the issue at this time tried to tell me my device was defective. I spoke to another employee in store and found out it's been an issue for more than a few people after the last phone updates.
     

Share This Page

Loading...