SD card won't mount


Last Updated:

  1. drumelloboe

    drumelloboe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I somehow killed my 2GB SD card last week (accidentally unplugged from the laptop while it was writing data- wasn't recognized as existing by my phone or laptop after that) and just got a 4GB card today. I formatted it (FAT32) before trying anything, then copied my files back from my laptop onto the card and ran a new Titanium Backup batch thingie. Everything was fine, and I was going to go create a new backup file through ClockworkMod so I could flash a new ROM on there and I get this message:

    E: Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk1)
    (Invalid argument)
    Can't mount /sdcard

    It mounts to my laptop, and when I open both Titanium and ROM manager they don't give me an error about the SD card so it's working in some places, it seems.

    I tried reformatting and it didn't help... any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    ...i'm just spit-balling here... but do you have the clockwork mod folder still on your new sd card? maybe you need to reflash clockwork...
     
  3. drumelloboe

    drumelloboe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup... luckily I had just copied my old SD card to my desktop before I fried it, so everything is there and shows up on the new one when I look via my Finder.

    How would I go about reflashing clockwork?
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    It's an option in rom manager
     
  5. drumelloboe

    drumelloboe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mk, reflashed clockwork and I'm still getting the exact same error.
     
  6. drumelloboe

    drumelloboe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I formatted it through the phone 3 or 4 times, took the battery out after each time, and it eventually worked. So while I suppose it's solved, I'd love any ideas as to what may have been the issue in case it happens to someone else (or me again, for that matter)...
     
  7. drumelloboe

    drumelloboe Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welp, I formatted my card so I could free up some old space and I'm going through the same issues, but now I can't boot up to format through the phone (I keep getting boot loops), and it won't mount through ClockWork to format there.

    I can format it on my Macbook all day long and it doesn't matter, it will not mount on my phone when the time comes.
     
  8. droidboys

    droidboys New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same issue here... Looks like a bad card format can cause the issue from what I am reading here and may explain some Alex-V ROM freeze's I have had with certain versions but not others.

    I used Gparted in Ubuntu to partition and format the card. I will try and recover what I can off the card and then reformat it in the phone, and then partition in ROM manager although it only partitions up to 512MB for some reason (1GB is better).

    I just ran 'fix permissions' on the SD card from ROM Manager to see if that helps. The PHONE can read the card, just nothing else can (USB mount or Recovery).

    frigging annoying, it's $70 for a new 16GB card so I hope this one is ok.
     
  9. arob

    arob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having similar/the same problems. Did either of you have any luck figuring this out?
     
  10. jmar

    jmar Nexican VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    The solution is simple. Use rom manager to flash the alternate amon RA recovery. Boot into recovery and make a backup. These will now be stored in a folder on your SD card called nandroid. Been using this recovery since I had an LG ally with never a single problem. Don't use rom manager to ever flash anything. And clockwork is bogus and has all these problems described here among others. Don't know why people don't use amon RA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...