SDK/Screenshot with a Mac..halp..General


Last Updated:

  1. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    I really want to post my Layouts, but I downloaded the SDK but I don't see a .dmg to open or "execute". (Gasp, I don't have have a PC, and would rather avoid turning on my fusion ware windows xp..it makes me feel gross.)

    Anyone else do it on a Mac, or am I the only one?

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I still don't know Mac, but on a PC the file is in the Tools folder and it is called ddms. So it is Android-sdk-windows > tools and then the ddms file. The phone has to be connected and the debugging turned on for it start up though.

    Do you have a tools folder?
     
  3. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
  4. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Did you download the Mac version SDK.
     
  5. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    So you installed the SDK and then installed the Android 1.5 and USB driver packages, right?
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
  8. ahduckit

    ahduckit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its in the tools folder. go to the sdk-->tools-->android (think that's what it was called, its the third or forth one on the top row) will post exactly what it is called when I get to my computer.
     
  9. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    I don't see a DDMS...and what Drivers? I've been able to mount my phone to the computer with no problems. It's in usb debug mode, and yes, it's mounted.
     
  10. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    ddms is the fourth file you show under tools in the image you posted.

    After the install you need to run the SDK Setup.exe (I assume it would be the same file for mac) and select the Android 1.5 package and USB driver package. Once those are installed you can plug in your phone (no need to mount) and run the ddms. Then the console will come up.
     
  11. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    Wally.. i just did it on my mac book...

    unzip it (like you have)
    in "tools" there is ddms open that.
    plug in phone.
    wala
     
  12. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    You don't have to run the SDk setup and download/install 1.5 and USB driver packages on a Mac? You guys have it too easy.;)
     
  13. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    nope just open ddms....

    now up stairs i'll have to do the driver thing. windows is upstairs. macbook is in front of me and the tv lol... while my daughter fights her afternoon napp :(

    i posted my few screens Wally its hella easy...

    [​IMG]
     
  14. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    OH.

    I'm so sorry guys. The files are unix-executable. Normally a .exe is a windows protocol, which Mac OSX doens't know what to do with. It's the same icon/logo, so i thought they where just .exe files.

    Silly me..I have the terminal up, now to figure out to work it xD
     
  15. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    wally all i did was ddbl click ddms and terminal opened for me.....

    are u using an intel based mac?
     
  16. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Haha, yes, It's here and opened and everything is working ;P
     
  17. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Sweet!! Now where's those screenies?
     
  18. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wow, that was amazingly easy.

    Figuring out the best way to upload them..stand by
     
  19. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    photobucket
     
  20. odaxium

    odaxium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    lol

    silly macs :p
     
  21. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ok, go look, posted!!!
     
  22. frickingphil

    frickingphil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found it funny when I was reading a part of the SDK guide and it says

    "2. If you're on a Mac, it just works. Skip this step." :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...