Sony Google TV Live TV issue.


Last Updated:

  1. xtremecanefan

    xtremecanefan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got the Sony Google TV set-top, picked this over the Logitech one because i thought the remote as a lot nicer and compact, and I didn't have a blu-ray player yet and figured this was as good a time as any to get one.

    So far, I am in love with it. I can browse the net, watch ESPN3, have not tried hulu but I assume it will work.

    Right now my only issue with it is watching Live tv. I have it set up with HDMI through my Comcast box (RNG110) and the picture is really small. When watching HD it puts two black bars on the size and shrinks it down so that it is still widescreen, but is very small with black bars on the sides and top (I can zoom in with my Comcast remote, it stretches up, but then the sides are blocked by the bars).

    I realize this is new but I am hoping someone else has figured out why it does this. Hope someone can help. Sorry if it is hard to understand...hard to explain for me, heh.

    Thanks.

    EDIT: Seems to be set up only for SD, but it says it can playback HD in 1080p.
     

    Advertisement
  2. skell

    skell Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue when I set mine up. Comcast was only showing up in SD and in some cases, it was garbled and fragmented, with the audio breaking up. The solution for me was to unplug the Comcast box for a couple of minutes (really wait a couple of minutes too). I've not had a problem since, -- I'm getting full HD.
     
  3. xtremecanefan

    xtremecanefan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah man, thanks a bunch. Worked like a charm! I am now completely in love with this purchase.
     
  4. mbalchan

    mbalchan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will this delete any saved programs I have in the DVR?
     
  5. StrifeJester

    StrifeJester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    35
    Not sure about comcast but Dish Network control the DVR itself not the storage so the menu and deleting things is the same as using their remote. I assume it would be for this unit as well. In your original post you mentioned Hulu, no dice as of right now Hulu is blocking Google TV. With Pro being released today though you may see it soon.
     
  6. SumitKakra

    SumitKakra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I setup my new Sony Google TV with Comcast SD set top box. I assumed it is going to to be straight forward and followed all the onscreen steps. But it failed to setup live video. All I can use it is like old TV. As of now it is setup with in built tuner and I can use it like old TVs where we set the TV channel to a number and use comcast remote to change channels.
    Any help in resolving the issue(s) is appreciated.

    Thanks
    Sumit
     

Share This Page

Loading...