"Sprint Zone" App Driving Me NUTS!!!!


Last Updated:

  1. Drew

    Drew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    23
    On both my Sprint HTC Hero and my wife's, we keep getting an error every time we boot up our phones that says "The application Sprint Zone (process com.sprint.dsa) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." We I try to go to All Apps and manually open Sprint Zone, the app starts to open but then I get the same error again.

    I've searched high and low and cannot for the life of me figure out (a) what this app is, and (b) why does it keep stopping "unexpectedly". It appears I can delete the app from the Manage Applications screen if I want to, but I have no idea how important it is, if at all. Do I need it, and if not, will it affect anything else if I remove it?

    We're both still running Firmware Version 1.5 (afraid to upgrade because of all the negative publicity I've read here) and the latest software version.

    Can anybody help me out here? I'm about to pull my friggin' hair out!

    Thanks in advance...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I didn't know 1.5 had Sprint Zone?

    You can delete it, it won't affect anything.
     
    Drew likes this.
  3. Drew

    Drew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yep, it does...but it's apparently USELESS! ;) I don't recall ever using it, and we didn't know it existed until we started getting the "stopped unexpectedly" error in the past few days. Thanks! That sucker's outa' there!
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Anytime! :)

    Wait until you decide to root... you'll get to remove all that useless stuff!! :p
     
  5. my menace

    my menace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same problem, deleted it and I haven't noticed any problems yet, from what I've googled it just appears to be a centralized app that you can use to check minutes used/left data used etc. etc.
     
  6. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    59
    Where are you downloading it from?
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    ^huh?
     
  8. Androidious

    Androidious New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd just delete it, it's useless and is included in some 2.1 roms as well. It's not even an important app. It basically is one big centralized bookmark. It just sends you off to your web browser to different places such as sprints site to check minutes, bills, etc., or it shows you great apps that you can download (such as Oprah's app to stay informed on the latest Oprah crap, LoL!). It's kind of a hard-to-find app though in your system/app/ section, but once you delete it, u won't regret it :) Hope that helps any.
     
  9. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    59
    Where are you finding it?
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    It's included in the stock 2.1 update and in some Roms (like fresh).
     
  11. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    59
    That's funny my 2.1 didn't have it. :confused:

    Where is it in the system?
     
  12. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    you can remove it.........but if I were you...I would update to 2.1...
     
  13. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Should be able to see it in your app drawer :confused:

    It's ok, you didn't want it anyways :p
     
  14. tazcollins

    tazcollins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Didn't know about this one. It is in my drawer on 1.5. In manage applications I can uninstall it. Should I? I did get the same error message when I tried to open it. TC :confused:
     
  15. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I'm going to say go for it, delete away. It's used for sprint to recommend apps to you and for you to check your minutes and stuff.... Some people have reported that it drains their battery because it keeps searching for information.

    IMO, you've never used it and you've had the hero at least 8 months... delete it! :)
     
    tazcollins likes this.
  16. tazcollins

    tazcollins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks! It's gone. TC
     
  17. TeamTJ

    TeamTJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    What is the file name to remove the Sprint Zone. I don't see one that looks right...
     
  18. tazcollins

    tazcollins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Go to Settings-Applications-Manage Applications. Find Sprint Zone and uninstall it. TC
     
    TeamTJ likes this.
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881

    Or install and uninstaller from the market and use that with one click without having to go to the market to uninstall something
     
  20. TeamTJ

    TeamTJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well that was deceptively easy.

    I was thinking I'd have to rm the .apk like all the other Sprint apps.

    Thanks!
     
  21. The Dark Knight

    The Dark Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm glad I came across this thread, because I've been having the same annoying problem for the past few weeks. I attributed it to my low disc space, but after having freed up 30 mb worth of RAM, I realized that there must be another problem. I am running 1.5 on the Hero FYI, and the stupid Sprint Zone FC only began sometime in July of 2010. I understand the solution regarding its removal, but what gives regarding the Force Close? Did Sprint update the firmware, and is that bugging it out?
     

Share This Page

Loading...