T-Mobile coverage in Fairfax, VA?


Last Updated:

  1. eraser

    eraser Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am thinking of switching to T-Mobile as soon as they get an Android 2.0 device.

    I've heard that T-Mobile coverage can be less than stellar in some areas and I was wondering if any forum members living in or close to Fairfax can share their experiences.

    T-Mobile's coverage map looks good, but I would like to hear from actual customers.

    How's T-Mobile's voice and 3G coverage in the area?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I get repeatedly told that T-Mo's coverage in my area, the Balt/DC corridor (I know, a little off), is better than AT&T's. From Rhode Island, to North Carolina, I only experienced 2 dead spots on/near I-95 with AT&T and a Motorola Q (YMMV with other phones) and I rarely find myself, if ever, on the Edge network. I regularly find myself in the Reston/Dulles area and still keep (4) bars (full signal) or (3) at worst. That said, if the T-Mo reports are true, I would think that Fairfax coverage would be solid.

    I had (2) different Droid's and hit (5) dead spots in my town alone, just 2 miles from the VZ store...took them back and canceled service. I only mention that because I'll be ordering a Milestone in a few days to put on T-Mo's network. If you want to follow my reports, check the Droid forums in about a week or so.
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I'm not sure how any HTC or Milestone/Motorola device would fair, but I used my Nokia N900 on a trip to Dulles Airport, from Baltimore, and had full bars of 3G most of the whole time on T-Mo (it dipped a few times from 5 "full" to 3 bars). I get their 3.5G pretty much everywhere I've been from NOVA to Philly. service (good for 2.9Mb down/1.8Mb up in one part of Philly's 7Mb network) via the $10 "web2go" plan.
     
  4. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm in richmond, va and get consistent 3 if not 4 bars 3G coverage all over richmond - i travel north thru DC quite a bit and service up there is even better - in fact, have never found a dead spot all up & down the eastern seaboard - go down to orlando Fl twice a year, NY once, CT and Boston once a year
     
  5. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    You do know your going to be on EDGE with no 3G if your on T-Mobiles network right? Milestone doesn't support UMTS 1700AWS Band.
     
  6. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    If I got the Milesone, I'd keep my at&t accont and get the Canadian version. T-Mobile is for my n900...still waitin for 7Mb in my town.
     

Share This Page

Loading...