Temperature reading with TempMonitor and SetCPU


Last Updated:

  1. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    I am currently running BB 0.5 / ESE53 (don't care about having more than three home screens) and AdamZ low voltage kernel at 800MHz.

    I have both SetCPU (obviously) and TempMonitor installed.

    I have TempMonitor set to display the temperature in the notification bar with the refresh interval at .5 seconds.

    I also have the SetCPU widget on a home screen.

    I have frequently noticed that the temperature reported by these two programs frequently differs by several degrees. I have seen it differ as much as 5 degrees Fahrenheit.

    Since both programs are monitoring the battery temperature, why is there a difference? Does it have any relation to how often each program is reading the sensor? I can't find anywhere to set the refresh interval in SetCPU.

    Should either of these two programs be considered more accurate than the other?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I have tried to find some information on this but my SetCPU temp is even further off than what you are reporting. I just looked...there is 7 degrees difference and that seems like the norm on my phone.

    SetCPU didn't always include those measurements so I'm not sure how accurate it is. I would be inclined to trust TempMonitor...but I have no factual reasoning. Sorry...not much help I'm sure.

    The good news is that you really don't need to be concerned with the battery temperature until it reaches over 45 deg C from what I have read. Now I have had mine hotter than that and haven't had any issues. I've been close to 55 deg C before...intensionally to stress my phone out. Normal operation...not so much.
     
  3. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    I don't think setcpu updates as frequently, does it? That could be the reason.
     
  4. SL-1200

    SL-1200 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    SetCPU measures the battery temp I believe. Are you displaying the CPU temp in the notification bar through TempMonitor? If so, that may be the where the confusion lies.
     
  5. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    Nope, I looked at the settings both apps before posting. Both are looking at the battery temp.
     
  6. MNG708

    MNG708 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    I always wondered why there was a difference in temperatures also with SetCPU and TempMonitor. What I did was in TempMonitor, go into your preferences menu and click on the "Force System Data" option. When I checked this option, the temperatures now match. And it seems to update pretty quickly.
     
  7. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    My apps correspond 100% (right now SetCPU, TempMonitor and BatteryLeft all show 82.2F - well TempMonitor rounds it to 82F). Could be your apps are checking at different intervals
     
  8. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    Ah... I think you've figured it out

    Selecting the "Force System Data" option in TempMonitor causes it to read the temperature that the Android OS logs and does not provide a real time view of the actual temperature.

    Since you got the two programs to report the same temperature by selecting that option, I think SetCPU may be doing the same thing... using the temp as recorded by Android and not by looking at the temp sensor in real time.
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  9. tjbugs1

    tjbugs1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    11
    I set "Force System Data" but mine are still off, any ideas?
     
  10. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    In further testing, I just stuck my Droid in front of the AC unit for about 30 seconds.

    The real time temperature as monitored by TempMonitor is 22C. It's taken the SetCPU widget about four minutes to drop the reported temp down from 31C to now 28C.

    The 'System Info' button in SetCPU is showing the same as the widget.

    As before, I was able to get the exact same readings in TempMonitor by forcing it to display the system logged temperature instead of the real time reading. I am now completely convinced that SetCPU is using whatever Android is logging and not reading the temp sensor directly.

    So the next question is why isn't SetCPU (or at least the widget / System Info) using the real time reading of the temperature?

    This concerns me regarding SetCPU's failsafe profile. I can see the possibility of the temperature getting high enough to force the failsafe profile setting, but SetCPU not actually doing anything for a while because it hasn't seen that the temperature has gotten high enough due to reading the logged temp.

    Thoughts?

    ... After typing all of this (on my computer), TempMonitor is showing the real time temp of 22C (my office is extremely cold) while SetCPU is STILL showing 28C.
     

Share This Page

Loading...