Test driving sprint(possibly hero) and leaving verizon(eris)


Last Updated:

  1. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Now I know the eris and hero are essentially the same device with minor differences

    but i am leaving verizon(for a month...im suspending service) to try sprint out...

    Personally, I see what people say when they say sprint is cheaper(verizon has better coverage)

    but im going to give them a month of my time

    Is the hero a good phone? I know all about the evo but i am hoping that the way i am doing it, i'll still be able to get the evo within my 30 day period

    I've read a few threads here in the forum and some of them are cluttered with pointless off topic comments
    so i figured i'd just start a thread to figure out
    what exactly are the current ideas and opinions of the sprint hero

    I say this so people wouldn't say i didn't search
    1)Complaints
    2)Former complaints that have been addressed by sprint or htc
    3)And any new info

    have you guys gotten 2.0 yet?
    and isn't the phone able to be rooted?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    1) Complaints
    Several from me.... for one lagging. It's not BAD, but it can get fairly hairy with Sense UI running. Another one is the screen. Not the actual screen, but typing on it. The edges of it are REALLY touch deaf, if you can say that. You have to kind of MASH the space bar, the P, and likewise. Any key/button near the edge is a masher to use. You tube doesn't work either, kind of annoying as that was one of the things I kind of really wanted when I got into this. The trackball as well. There's no 'issues' with it, other than it's not really good for text selection. It goes through text one letter at a time per swipe across it. If you really FLING your finger over it like you're trying to spin it so fast it's going to catch on fire from friction, you can go through... I'd say 8 or 9 characters. Overall, it's horrible for editing text, but it's perfect for almost everything else. The size bonus I think is attractive as well. I got sausage fingers, so anything that makes the things a bit easier to use on the phone by increasing the size of it (go ahead, think your dirty thought of 'male enhancement pills' lol) Uhh.... lets see.... not much else here.

    2) Former complaints were like keyboard lag and whatnot... but if you get a Hero now or anytime in the future it comes pre-updated so you don't have to worry about any of that mess.

    3) New info... we got 2.1 ROM's and what not, but other than that, not a whole lot more.


    As far as actually GETTING 2.1, it's a gray area. We've been told we'll be getting it, but not date has been given. If you really want it, you can just root the phone and get it yourself with all the knick knacks the developers throw on top of it. Kind of like the extra cookie dough in the bottom of the bowl after baking cookies. XD
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    1) My ONLY complaint are a little lag now and then. Another HUGE complaint by a lot on the forums are MMS issues (I've never experienced this one though).
    2) There was a 100% awake issue that was addressed with an MR update.
    3) Umm... 2.1 is supposed to be out soon?

    We are still on 1.5 and have been able to root for quite sometime.

    FWIW, when I compare my monthly bill to what I used to pay... it is reason enough to keep me on sprint.
     
  4. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    oh i understand most of your complaints as I have the HTC ERIS from verizon as stated above

    1)MMS works when it wants...sometimes i get them, sometimes i don't...i have to turn wi-fi off to download them

    2)My trackball on the eris actually is messed up i think...the screens move when i am not touching it or the screen and sometimes it moves in the middle of editing texts

    3)Proximity sensor doesn't come on like it's supposed to

    It looks like a lot of the issues you stated above are on the eris.

    There are really no good phones on sprint
    Samsung mOment is way too big and ugly to me
    and the pixi's price is alluring with it being free however, lack of wifi and being slow as hell may kill my interest

    I guess till the evo comes out, i may stick with a hero(the eris is incredibly laggy but ive gotten so used to it that i probably wouldn't notice it on the hero)

    as far as bill...im supposed to be paying 130 a month for unlimited a month
    but my bills are anywhere from 130-280 a month, how idk...

    So sprint 69.99 plan may be good
    i just hope i like their coverage....
     
  5. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Cute avatar btw
    and lol @ the dirty thought line haha

    and like i said in the eris forums, we are not getting 2.1
    just like i was partially right about verizon nexus one...
    while i said the desire would be the verizon version of the nexus one
    instead of the droid incredible, either way vzw aint getting it
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Try it, if you don't like it you can always return it within 30 days. Also, when Sprint roams, it does so onto Verizons network....
     
  7. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Yeah i heard
    and can't it roam off of att and tmo

    Also, i have a verizon wireless network extender
    which boosts the signal of my phone when im in low coverage area

    since i could roam off verizon would this box be obsolete or would it still increase signal if im roaming off their network

    and also how do you
    1)know if you are roaming off another network(its free right)
    2)force yourself to roam on another netwrok
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    No idea on most of it.

    I've heard that it's free to roam... but if you do it ALL the time, Sprint may drop your contract.
     
  9. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    2
    To the O.P.: Cell service varies from person to person, device to device. I was with verizon for ten years until 2007. I took a three year break from cell phones and joined sprint this year. For me, sprints service and coverage is better than verizons. Not to mention sprints open source devices unlike verizons(mostly). Another thing to keep in mind is that, for me anyway, sprint is roaming partners with verizon. So if i am ever out of sprints home network(never happens, not yet anyway), i will have coverage on verizons network. In other words, i will never be without coverage ans havent been yet. As for the htc hero, this device is amazing. I had the samsung exclaim, blackberry curve and the blackberry tour before i got the hero. I have nothing bad to say about the hero. It has been better for me than any of the three devices i had before it. Work with the device, respect it and it will be perfect for you. So there is a summary of my experience. Sprints service/coverage is great(for me), customer service is great...and i get a 25% monthly discount because of my employment. Good luck making your decision, i hope sprint works for you.
     
  10. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    thank you!
    I live in New Jersey!
    and yeah you are right about signal between device to device.
    i've had two verizon phones(Storm and eris)
    and the eris signal is horrible yet the storm seems to have better signal

    but i hope sprint works for me too
     
  11. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    When you're roaming you'll see a triangle above your signal strength bar display.

    Roaming isn't exactly free...roaming minutes are deducted from your monthly allotment of anytime minutes.
     
  12. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im in massachusetts. About twenty minutes south of boston on the south shore, like i said, i always have coverage. And if youre in the city, sprint cant be touched. A friend of mine works in the city, in a union and nobody but sprint users can make calls in the basements of those buildings, hes told me. As a long time verizon supporter, i can say with confidence that ive made the right choice ny choosing sprint to get back into the cell phone arena.
     
  13. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    But its basically the same as just using the minutes for a regular call right?
    it doesnt deduct more or less or charge extra or anything
     
  14. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is incorrect. Roaming is free and does not deduct from your minutes when on the everything data plan. Only calls to and from land lines go against your minutes
     
  15. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    14
    well I live in philly and my coverage is great can't complain
     
  16. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    Wrong. To be using any mobile minutes the call must have originated on a sprint tower.
     
  17. viperboy

    viperboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    787
    FWIW, my Dad used my Droid for a few days, thought he would like the Android OS and since he has Sprint, he chose the Hero. He hates it compared to the Droid. Granted, you're coming from an Eris, but his big complaint was lag as well, just like the Eris. It's basically going to be the same device.
     
  18. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Re-read your fine print...mobile internet while roaming is free (but you risk consequences if you go over 800MB while roaming, or if the majority of your data is roaming), but roaming voice minutes are deducted from your land line minutes.

    That is correct. It's charged as though it were a regular land line call. As far as whether it's free on evenings and weekends like land line calls, I don't know.
     
  19. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    2
    you mean to NOT use minutes? then its time for me to call customer service/account services and be angry
     
  20. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    how do you force roam with the hero?
     
  21. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    the exceptions to "any mobile, anytime" are international calls and calls made while roaming... but calls made while roaming or to land lines are so rare for me that I never go anywhere close to using my 450 minutes
     
  22. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I personally love Sprint due to their pricing (no company can top it) and I get excellent coverage wherever I am. If you decide to come over to Sprint, I would advise waiting for 2.1 to release on the Hero, Nexus One releases (sometime in May), or wait for the EVO 4G. Happy hunting :)
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Ah... guess it's "sprint only" or "automatic." Hmm, I thought it was an option.

    UPdated my original post to reflect! Good catch!
     
  24. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
  25. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Please do!

    I swore there was a way to do it but I couldn't find it on a quick scroll through the settings on the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...