to root or not to root


Last Updated:

  1. willy792003

    willy792003 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone here tell me why i should root my desire if i don't need apps2sd?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Smokinjoe18

    Smokinjoe18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    to be honest i've been asking the same question, no body bothering to answer really, checking the market place not a great deal of apps that need root (only really wifi tethering and cpu control (paid) if you want that). People are now making custom roms eg removing unwanted stuff and adding stuff already available. with the snap dragon processor removing stuff probably wont spped the phone up any but like I said no-one saying much. If your happy the way your phone is I wouldn't bother rooting. I did take the plunge to see what all the fuss was and managed it quite easily and now have apps to sd so i don't have to worry about phone memory creating a 1gb partion for my apps but thats about it for now..

    glad to hear what other people think ...
     
  3. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    I really want apps2d thats all, i need more space for apps, Can root be reversed i.e reset the whole phone like it was oringinally?

    I got my phone last tuesday and all i want it apps2sd, do i have change the HTC firmware or does that stay and it hacks it and allows me to added apps2sd option?

    Also am i able to restore it back to original ? if i brick it while trying to do this is there way to unbrick?

    thank you from an andriod newbie
     
  4. Smokinjoe18

    Smokinjoe18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    At the moment once it's rooted it's rooted unless you can get a stock or branded rom depending on your carrier see here;

    Links to Generic + Branded Roms - xda-developers

    all i could find for now, as for bricking it there is loads of advice here and other forums but by what the experts on these forums say it's very unlikely if you follow the information properly, managed mine from here (newbie also this is my 1st Android phone):

    How To Root Your HTC Desire & Add Apps2SD Nimbu

    Thanks to lekky (windows pc only)

    Hope this helps..
     
  5. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok I'm from UK and my handset is simfree no network branding so its stock HTC desire firmware.

    I dont think HTC have a rom for desire yet

    cheers
     
  6. Smokinjoe18

    Smokinjoe18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Buggy how? Been working perfectly for me.
     
  9. Smokinjoe18

    Smokinjoe18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree been working ok for me (gave myself 1gb extra for apps)
     
  10. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok so let me get this right guys bare with me, so if i download the stock rom will that be my backup to restore stock state and have "warranty" again?

    when i used lekky method am i installing a another firmware or patching my original one? if i am installin a custom firmware, can i just install the stock one with apps2sd support?

    cheers
     
  11. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    As yours is unbranded yes you can just install a generic ROM back on to make any warranty claims.

    Rooting replaces the firmware with one that has super user permissions which is needed to install Apps2SD.

    I rooted mine mostly for Apps2SD but also for wifi tethering (which isn't working!) and screenshot applications. There aren't a huge number of advantages right now.
    Oh and you can run Titanium Backup.

    I know Smokinjoe18 has said he chose to have an extra 1GB for apps but if you do decide to root it I would suggest you choose a lesser amount.
    I went for 768MB on mine and I highly doubt I will possibly fill it. I've used a couple of hundred MB and only have 64MB remaining on the built in memory as it still uses some.
    I'd go for 512MB if I did it again.
     
    Ronaldo likes this.
  12. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
  13. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok thanks. Got couple of more questions. What does the wwe string mean on the firmware?

    When i root how will I know that I'm installing generic HTC firmware?

    I ordered 8gb class 6 card so I will set 1gb as I want to install loads of games and apps.

    Thanks


    Ps do I need to make gold card since mine is generic?
     
  14. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    can you guys tell me how to root without a gold card as i have generic, all the guides i see include the gold card step, i'm bit confused cheers
     
  15. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    Well its up to you but I have well over 100 apps and games and half of the internal memory is used.

    As far as I know you don't need the goldcard so just start the process with your normal SD card in

    WWE is worldwide English

    Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
     
    Ronaldo likes this.
  16. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    do you mean you have oever 100 apps on a non rooted phone?

    since mine is generic, if i want to revert to a non rooted phone i can just flash with the wwe rom (the one same as mine)?


    "
    Unzip the file you downloaded to a directory, then open a [COLOR=#fe6a32 !important][COLOR=#fe6a32 !important]command [COLOR=#fe6a32 !important]prompt[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] [​IMG]
    / terminal window at that directory.Turn off your HTC Desire, then turn it back on with the 'back' button held down. You'll see 'FASTBOOT' written on the screen in a red box. Connect the phone to the [COLOR=#fe6a32 !important][COLOR=#fe6a32 !important]computer[/COLOR][/COLOR].
    In the terminal window, enter either 'step1-windows.bat', './step1-mac.sh' or './step1-linux.sh' as appropriate.
    When this step has completed, navigate to the 'BOOTLOADER' and then 'RECOVERY' option on the menu, using the volume buttons to move and the power button to select.
    In the terminal window, enter either 'step2-windows.bat', './step2-mac.sh' or './step2-linux.sh' as appropriate.
    When this has completed, your device should be at the 'recovery' screen. Select the 'wipe' option, then select the option to apply an update zip from sdcard, and select 'rootedupdate.zip'. This will take a little while, so go make a nice cup of tea. When the flash has finished, reboot, and you are DONE"


    is the above all all i need to do since i wont be using gold card?
     
  17. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    No I have over 100 apps on a rooted phone.

    Even on a rooted phone apps use internal memory, as I explained above this means you could easily fill the internal memory before going anywhere near the 1GB you set for Apps2SD

    Yes you can just flash the generic ROm over it.

    Yes just start from those steps from what I understand :)
     
  18. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok i get you, so it installs some files in internal and rest on sd?

    might give this ago

    do i still donwload the 120mb file?

    cant understand why there is no guide for generic handsets that dont need goldcard
     
  19. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    No that's what i'm saying even installing to SD still requires internal memory just not as much as without Apps2SD

    I have over 100 apps installed and it is using a little over half of the internal memory. So I can't see you will ever have a need for 1GB SD app memory. Especially as many of the apps that use a large amount of memory install it to the SD card (Sat Nav software, games such as Asphalt 5)
     
  20. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    then wat is the point of apps2SD? how does it calculate how much will install and wat files are stocked on SD, are the shortcuts files?

    I have 44 apps installed including Sygic Maps (6mb), nimbuzz (takes 5mb), HTC_IME mod takes 5mb.

    so if i had apps2SD these apps would not install on SD or some of the files?

    sorry confused on what apps2sd is now
     
  21. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    apps2SD attempts to install the bulk of the data to the SD card, however the phone still needs some of the data to be on the internal memory for the app to function correctly.

    The point is without Apps2SD I would have filled my internal memory 3 times over :)

    It don't know how it calculates what, it just does.

    If you installed those apps you mentioned above it would probably use a MB of the internal memory instead of the normal 16MB. It's not clear cut it's just down to each app.

    The bottom line is if you want to be filling your phone with apps and games you want Apps2SD (or version 2.2 of the firmware which is apparently coming with it!)
     
  22. willy792003

    willy792003 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think for now i am content with waiting for 2.2 :)

    thanks for all the feedback peeps!
     
  23. RambJoe

    RambJoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    This thread is kind of relevant. Does Android have a terminal? And if it does, once I've rooted it, can I use sudo?
     
  24. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    There is a terminal app and works after u root
     
  25. sckc23

    sckc23 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    hey thanks for raising this question. i hvn't got my desire yet but was reading several reviews about the lack of phone memory for apps to be installed to. was previously a symbian user and i find hacking the phone gives me a lot more freedom to modify os so i wonder if this applies to android too.

    anyway i think i'll go ahead to root it coz i tends to install a lot of apps. really hope 2.2 is gonna solve this problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...