• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

(Total noob to debranding) A few questions

N

Nasalhair

Hi.

I'm the owner of an Orange branded Desire and, as with most other people in my situation, I'm getting a bit fed up with being faffed around by Orange regarding the Froyo update, if only because I really want some of the niggling bugs fixed rather than big new features.

I've printed out a few guides on debranding, and bought a microSD to SD adapter, and I'm highly computer literate (as soon as I buy a new PC I immediately remove all the partitions and rebuild it from scratch)... but I've never debranded a phone before. All of the guides I've seen seem to be a bit lacking, and tell you some things but not others. So, before I take the plunge and potentially brick my phone I have a few questions, which may sound totally noob but I'd really appreciate some answers.

1. Goldcards. OK, so I plan to take the card which came with my Desire and turn that into a Goldcard. I've got the app to do it, and I know about getting the image etc. All of the guides mention that if you plan to use your operator-supplied card as your Goldcard you should save the existing contents to a folder on your computer first. So here's the first "sorry for sounding thick" question. Once the Goldcard is created do I just copy everything back onto the Goldcard and it will still be fine? Are there any conflicting folder names etc. which may cause problems?
  2. SIM locks. Some of the guides mention that if you debrand with your SIM card still inserted it will be locked and you'll have to buy a code to unlock it, but if you take the SIM out and debrand it will be fine. Question: What about future updates? Every time HTC release an update do we have to take the SIM out again before downloading & installing otherwise it will get locked?