tried to enable swap, now won't startSupport


Last Updated:

  1. benner

    benner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am running GalaxHero 1.1. I tried to enable swap. First, I used the recovery mode and selected format ext. SD card with swap, then i restarted and enabled compcache and set it to 2 (now I see it should have been 0). Then I restarted and I just get the Android splash screen running forever. Can anyone suggest a solution?

    Thanks in advance,
     

    Advertisement
  2. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    adb logcat during boot might help.

    you may try this:

    enter recovery mode
    adb shell
    vi /system/etc/galaxo.conf
    compcache=no
    save
    sync
    reboot
     
  3. benner

    benner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure how to edit compcache. it appears to be coming up as read only.
     
  4. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    ah
    before adb shell,
    adb remount
     
  5. benner

    benner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can read through the conf. file but can't move up and down to change anything. I tried just typing the commands as you have them (compcache=no) into the shell and nothing happens. when i call up the conf file again there is no change. Am I doing something wrong? Can I find the file and open it with a text editor then save it back again after I edit? Thanks for your help so far...
     
  6. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    adb remount
    adb pull /system/etc/galaxo.conf . (it will copy galaxo.conf to your pc)
    edit galaxo.conf and change the line with compcache to no.
    adb push galaxo.conf /system/etc/galaxo.conf
    adb sync
    reboot phone
     
  7. benner

    benner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Excellent! Took me a minute to realize that I had to add to the commands where I wanted to copy the file to on my computer, but then everything worked. Instead of turning off the compcache, I just changed it to 0 and then the phone restarted fine. I really appreciate your guidance. Thanks a lot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...