Uninstall 2.2 back to 2.1Support


Last Updated:

  1. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is it possible to uninstall the manual install of 2.2 I did and go back to 2.1? I do alot of texting and Handcent and stock Messaging App are both really slow and bogged down and they werent in 2.1. So is there a way to do this? And if so, how?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ericshmerick

    ericshmerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hmm, my Handcent on 2.2 is blazing fast. Interesting.
     
  3. HTCRALEIGHFAN

    HTCRALEIGHFAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    do a hard reset.
     
  4. Lorak

    Lorak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    62
    I assume you have tried rebooting?
    After first installing 2.2 I got a few text and handcent was a bit slow.

    But after a reboot, handcent loads much quicker, swiftkey keyboard in handcent opens much faster. No complaints here at all.
     
  5. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have no issues with Handcent in 2.2
     
  6. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have no idea why im having this problem as most of you are stating yours is actually faster. Also when I delete text threads from different people they take a significant amount of time to delete as well. So doing a hard reset will erase the 2.2 update and set me back at 2.1 but with no apps?
     
  7. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    im new to Android, but a hard reset should just reset your 2.2 I believe. That's how it works with WinMo. Someone correct me if i'm wrong.

    I think they just want you to reset your phone to get 2.2 to act right. It will probably help.
     
  8. HTCRALEIGHFAN

    HTCRALEIGHFAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    if you have apps from the market they should be there all the 1's you bought or free u will just have to reinstall them! i had to do that a few days ago since sprint tv died on me and sprint tech supp said this was the only way to fix the tv! stressful and time consuming but you gotta do what you gotta do!
     
  9. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Alrighty I'll give it a shot and report back :/
     
  10. darweth

    darweth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only issue with 2.2 Handcent for me is the LED light won't flash
     
  11. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well the hard reset worked wonderfully and im still on 2.2 not 2.1 happily everything is snappy and great! And my LED is working now and I had fixed it before darweth you can change the rate at which it blinks in handcents notification settings and it will work if you set it on something besides default. But I would recommend doing a hard reset.
     
  12. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well the hard reset worked wonderfully and im still on 2.2 not 2.1 happily everything is snappy and great! And my LED is working now and I had fixed it before darweth you can change the rate at which it blinks in handcents notification settings and it will work if you set it on something besides default. But I would recommend doing a hard reset.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  13. Stepintothedark

    Stepintothedark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    21
    when I FIRST did the latest Handcent update, the LED was set NOT to flash, I just went back in and selected it to flash, and it worked...

    but yeah Handcent is MUCH faster now with 2.2
     
  14. Starfleet Captain

    Starfleet Captain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    13
    does hard reset erase all of your data, such as contacts and txt messages?
     
  15. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    yes, but contacts will reload once you log back in to your Google account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...