Virtuous 2.7 and the DSP equalizer


Last Updated:

  1. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140

    Advertisement
  2. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    I'm on Virtuous 2.0 and have the dsp manager up and working perfectly on it. I'd say it would work on 2.7 just like its working on 2.0. Make a nandroid backup right before trying it though just in case.
     
  3. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    I'm about to test it out. I'll let you know in a bit.

    Edit:
    It seems to be working just fine.

    The virtual room effect with headphones is amazing.
     
  4. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    It installed fine on my phone, haven't tested it, on my way out to buy better headphones.
     
  5. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    16
    Made my $15 skull candy headphones that I got courtesy of the local AT&T store sound awesome!
     
  6. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Ive got some jvc earbuds that are cheap, im going to give them a run tonight on the bus with this. Ill leave feedback in the morning. Debating on buying some new Klipsch - Image S2 or S4 earbuds.
     
  7. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Seems like a great idea... I'm gonna wait and see how people react to this first.

    Here's to hoping it does a good job!
     
  8. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    Yes, the room effects are so sick. Makes headphones sound so much better. With a pair of comfortable headphones i almost forget I'm using headphones at all.
     
  9. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Omg you have to do this, audio is like 100x better. Great work dev. BEST mod I've done to my phone yet
     
  10. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24

    Does this change the sound of the ringtone/notifications as well?
     
  11. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Not sure I'll test it later, at work.
     
  12. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    My Skull Candy headphones are making a crackling sound with the virtual room effect... which "room" style are you guys using?
     
  13. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    is there a way to do this without rom manager or using adb commands? like just going through clockwork mod and installing the zip?
     
  14. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    Mine works fine with all room effects. What ROM are you running (or stock?)

    Yup. Just download the zip in the thread linked to in the OP, boot into clockwork, and choose install from SD. Then choose the zip, and you're good to go.

    Not sure why you wouldn't want to use ROM manager though. :p
     
  15. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    I get that crackling if my headphones are at the max volume. But if i back it off by one notch its fine and sounds great, Im using cheap jvc earbuds.
     
  16. rushmore

    rushmore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    8,267
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Folks, with room settings, ranges are being boosted (especially low end) so be careful. The crackling are your headphone drivers choking on you.

    Recommended settings IMO:

    Compression off

    EQ on and set to V pattern of your preference.

    Room set to on and "Studio"

    Some songs seem better off without room being on. Example:

    Hotel California sounds better set to off
    Back in Black sounds better set to on
     
  17. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    So a headphone with a better driver shouldnt crackle? anyone with some higher quality phones check that out?
     
  18. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    I have room effect strength on slight, eq on with a 3db cut at 63hz and a 1.5db cut at 250Hz, and I am using the "room" room effect.

    Along with my Klipsch S4's it sounds great. I usually listen at 2-4 notches below full volume and it sounds flawless. The only time I have it full volume or 1 notch below it is on songs that were recorded to quietly. I have yet to hear any distortion or popping.
     
  19. jayno20

    jayno20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yeah I am using the stock OTA 2.2. I get crackling at full volume, but I never listen to it at anything less than full so I guess it's not gonna work for me.
     
  20. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    Get a headphone amp. The Fiio e5 can be had as cheap as 15 bucks.
     
  21. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Thanks for all the feedback guys, I tried it and it is real cool. One of my favorite things. One more reason to root! :)
     
  22. ss21

    ss21 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a set of lower end Grado's and there is clipping/crackle at higher volume levels.
     
  23. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    If you need to run the phone at full volume then you'd really benefit from a headphone amp.

    I usually run mine anywhere from 2 to 5 notches from full. There is the occasional song that needs more cranking which is why I have a headphone amp on order.
     
  24. BzB

    BzB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    106
    Great find by the op. This should be a must do upgrade for a rooted inc. Makes a big difference in sound quality.

    I use a pair of sony earbuds and there's no way I could pump this thing up to full volume without hurting my ears. Maybe with over the ear cans a little more volume is needed to pump out the sounds. I would also suggest making sure your mp3 are of good quality, although that's not always possible.
     
  25. kenshinxl

    kenshinxl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like the developer updated the equalizer from what was posted on the XDA forum: http://bel.fi/~alankila/android-dsp/

    You can pull the updated files (DSPManager.apk and libaudioflinger.so) from the latest Cyanogenmod ROM and use adb to push them to the appropriate directories in recovery.

    I've noticed crackling on the highest volume with this version as well.

    FYI I am using: Stock 2.2 deodexed Sense ROM with Kings BFS #4.
     

Share This Page

Loading...