Volume fix rolling outGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267

    Advertisement
  2. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    Nothing yet (no really that I need it- across the pond here nearly as much as our UK brethren). Here's to hoping it comes to them quickly

    EDIT: Has CatLog (app) been updated to work in ICS? If so people should have it ready to run in case they receive the notification and can grab the download's url for everyone else to update

    EDIT: It works fine!
     
  3. Wilfred B

    Wilfred B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    273
    Nothing here either.
     
  4. grindboy

    grindboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downloaded and rebooted mine got an opened android with red exclamation mark sign (attached). Device was bootloader unlocked, rooted and had Paul's extra buttons mod installed. Going to try pulling the battery next. Will update in a sec.

    [edit] OK pulled the battery and it has rebooted as normal. Anyway I can tell if I'm running the update? It says build version ITL41D and Android version 4..0.1
     

    Attached Files:

  5. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
  6. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    40
    Mine was supposed to have the volume bug fix flashed by Samsung (Build should be ITL41F) but still shows as ITL41D. Anyone can confirm?
     
  7. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    I'm pretty sure that Samsung is not doing any flashing (at all), despite what the retailers have said previously. The update is coming out OTA direct from Google and you will have to accept it once you receive the notification. The retailers were saying this but I don't think there have been any reports of anyone's being flashed. Several on XDA received the OTA notification shortly after received their delayed and supposedly already flashed phones. Apparently Samsung only withheld supplies. You will get the OTA, just be patient.
     
  8. acrebo

    acrebo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone got it OTA yet? Starting to really annoy me now!
     
  9. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    I received it yesterday. No big whoop. Obviously for those negatively affected by the volume bug it would be beneficial.
     
  10. Wilfred B

    Wilfred B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    273
    Recieved it about an hour ago. The volume bug only affected me a few times. Still nice to know its fixed.
     
  11. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Not yet in the UK. Volume bug is v rare anyway for me.
     
  12. acrebo

    acrebo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you mean it isn't in the UK at all yet? As an O2 user in the SW of England, my phone spends a lot of time on 2G/Edge.

    Saying that, phone calls are still manageable with the bug, just very annoying!
     
  13. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    I know this isn't suppose to affect US users, but twice now when I have been in edge, my phone has jumped all the way down then back up right in front of me. I wasn't sure if I accidentally hit the volume button. The next time it happened to me, my hands weren't on it for sure.

    Is this the volume bug affecting you guys? I saw the volume jump down, then back up and down again.
     
  14. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    Some household items like cordless phones still use the 900 mHz bands in small-scale local uses...
     
  15. ahcl20

    ahcl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the update fixes anything else other than the volume bug?
     
  16. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Okay, well I don't have a home phone so I am not sure what it is.

    Today was the first day back at work, and I get edge in there a lot and all day my phone's volume was jumping up and down. I am sick of this volume bug, here I didn't think it would affect us US users.

    So will I not get the update pushed to me in the US?
     
  17. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    Well, is there anything that might be generating a 900 mHz field at work? The other possibility is that the 850 mHz 2G signal AT&T uses is just high enough to meet the lower threshold of the issue and it is triggering the interference. It has been well documented that this seemed to be limited to the 900mHz frequencies, I suppose it is possible that the actual issue occurs at lower frequencies as well- or that it actually occurs below the 900 mHz range, and there is enough variation in the 900 mHz range that it was triggering it. Then maybe your connection is hitting the upper end of its range and is still sufficient to trigger it.
    Are you at a military base while a work per chance? Maybe one of the frequencies they are using for tracking applications creeps into the 900 mHz range...
     
  18. Zivman

    Zivman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    7
    In MN and just received an OTA update... showing ITL41F build number.
     
  19. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    No I am definitely do not work on a military base and not sure what would be causing it at work or at my home or when I am driving in areas where I am connected to edge, but it has happened to me in three different areas.
     
  20. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
  21. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    I got mine at 6:02 pm in eastern West Virginia on AT&T.
     
  22. s.m.knipe

    s.m.knipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    242
    I don't know then man, wait for the update I guess. That is odd though. How about a Sears Craftsman garage door opener from between the late eighties and the the mid-nineties? They use the 890mHz band...
     
  23. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Doubt that too, my house was built three years ago. Thanks for trying, don't know if I will get the update either because of being on a different build, I am going to try to flash the stock factory images and then see if I can update.
     
  24. ticoin

    ticoin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. Rogue

    Rogue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    10
    I got an update through this morning (UK user), but it HASN'T fixed my volume issue at all. If i try and raise the volume during a call it still automatically lowers it.

    Very annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...