• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What is the correct thread-safe way to access shared resource?

uavengineer

Lurker
Oct 20, 2023
We are developing on Samsung Tab Active 4 Pro using Android Studio, kotlin and java. We are getting constant at random times app deadlocks. I am not new to developing with threads and synchronization methods however I am very new to Android development. I assume I am doing something wrong and will share what I am doing. But to set up the situation, we are using OSMDroid for the map viewing and are using layers of the map for draw icons that represent aircraft flying over the map. The main android app is done in kotlin and the UDP over ethernet is written in java files. Aircraft telemetry is received at about 1 hz over ethernet inside protobuf packets. The protobuf is received and parsed in a Listener java class using a thread and implemented in the run() method. In the udp handler where we receive and parse protobuf we call a kotlin object "class" (unfortunate use of terms with kotlin) that has a method UpdateEntity(). Here is a snippet of this code that handles a proto message type called Entity. EntityClass is the java wrapper created. This part is working fine, no issues here, just showing for context.

Code:
             if (msg.getMessageTypeEnum() == MessageWrapperClass.MessageWrapper.MessageTypeEnum.MESSAGE_TYPE_ENTITY) {
                    EntityClass.Entity entity = msg.getMessageEntity();
                    Log.d(TAG, "Listener:run (thread): Entity received\"" + entity.toString());

// 0 deg points north, vertically in map
                    double heading = Math.atan2(
                            entity.getKinematics().getEastSpeed(),
                            entity.getKinematics().getNorthSpeed()) * 180.0 / Math.PI;
                    // Put to [0,360] range
                    if (heading < 0) {
                        heading += 360.0;