Where Can I Find The Latest Firmware Update?


Last Updated:

  1. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone give me a link to the area where the latest download for the latest firmware is please? I've seen various sites, but I'm not certain which is the latest.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Gertrude

    Gertrude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to the HTC site and have a look in the download section, but 2.1 is not available yet.
    If your phone has 2.73.xxx, that is the most up to date firmware currently.

    We are all sitting waiting on 2.1 to be released, sit with us and join us while we bitch and whine about it taking so long!!
    G
     
  3. rob200375

    rob200375 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had a look at the HTC site and thought it was not the most user friendly site, but did find what I was looking for and like all the others I am waiting for the 2.1 update.
     
  4. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that but it says that update is to for PC syncing update. I'm on a MAC. Can I still use that update?? Even the steps had nothing to do with MACs.
     
  5. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone have any idea where I can download the latest ROM....for mac?
     
  6. JayCee

    JayCee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    It can't be done on a mac...I use a MacBook Pro but borrowed my wifes Windows Netbook to do the ROM update...you must know someone with a PC surely?
     
  7. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wowwww...that's wild man. I'm sh-t out of luck until I find someone then...I'm stuck with 3 macs at the house. Maybe I can find someone at work.

    Thanks man!
     
  8. Champmoney

    Champmoney Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello I'm new to this. I'm running ver 1.5. I take it it's better to update. If i update it won't lose all my stuff will it? Thanks for any help
     
  9. Champmoney

    Champmoney Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried to look for it and all i found were manuls and htc sync software. Any help please. Thanks
     
  10. ghost203

    ghost203 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried to go to settings on your HTC hero Phone then scroll down when it says about phone then click on firmware then hit update that might help if not then sorry.
     
  11. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may work for UK users, but mine is unlocked on ATT in the US.

    Can someone confirm if this is what I should be installing to get the latest ROM?

    I'm trying to get the latest rom, so I can move up from 1.5 and get Google Maps. My google maps got lost when I restored it and now I learned that Google Maps is only in the market with 1.6 compatible versions or later.

    HTC Hero - HTC Sync upgrade (V2.0.18) for Magic, Hero & Tattoo
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    1.5 is the latest available version of android for the Hero (Although we will be jumping to 2.1, hopefully sometime soon). So you can't get 1.6 yet.

    However, I would guess that upgrading to the latest hero ROM will get you the original google maps back.

    You install the HTC Sync software you just linked to, and then download this to update the ROM.

    ROM Upgrade for HTC Hero
     
  13. ghost203

    ghost203 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sorry let me clarify I meant to say that i have the sprint hero that came out October 18 2009
     
  14. JayCee

    JayCee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try the Sprint forum.
     
  15. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's an EXE file though for a PC. Does anyone know where I can find a link literally to the ROM itself? That way I can just drop it in my rooted Hero?

    Thanks so much for everyones help and input. This is killing me.
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    If only it were that easy....

    You really need to ask in the Sprint Hero forum for advice. There are GSM updates available repackaged as update.zip files, but I don't know what the score is for the CDMA handsets.
     
  17. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Slug, thanks man. The thing is, I'm on the UK Hero....not the Sprint Hero.
     
  18. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Look on Modaco's custom Rom page. He has kindly provided many stock roms for rollbacks if required.
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    Well, earlier in the thread you posted
    so forgive me if I seem slightly confused.:confused:
     
  20. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    There's always the option of Apple's Boot Camp...

    Or you can root it and install either official or custom 2.73 ROMs. I'm assuming you're on 1.76, so rooting is extremely easy. Just click the stickied guide on the HTC Hero Forum Page.
     

Share This Page

Loading...