• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Where to Start

odatkid

Jan 23, 2011
Florida
Hi All,
I'm a newbie with Android and I don't know where to start. I read about "root" and haven't a clue what to do. I would like to take control of my LG Optimus M from Metropcs and set it up for my needs. This is my first smart phone and I'm truly lost. I don't know how to load an app but it appears that if I can get a barcode scanner app installed then I would be able to install other apps easily. I just figured out how to install the LG USB drivers on Win7 and can now see my my phone's card when using the USB cord in my computer. I was able to drag BarcodeScanner3.53.apk and z4root.1.3.0.apk on to the 2Gb card but haven't a clue what to do next.

Any and all help is appreciated.:thinking:

The following folders are on the card also: .android_secure; Android; DCIM; Attachments; Blue Tooth; Handmark; z7logs; LOST.DIR and a demo.nimlog (0 bytes)

Thanks in advance.......Tom

You should use the Market app to install most apps. If you install them manually then you will not get updates. The z4root is not available in the market however. To load an app on the card you need a file viewer app such as Astro, which is available on the market. I also sometimes use Appbrain to find apps. It and barcode scanners ultimately take you to the Market to download an app.

Upvote 0
Since you are not familiar with what you are doing yet, I suggest that you take some time and learn the Android system before rooting it and trying to make changes. You could end up with a nice LG paperweight. Also, have you verified that you are on 2.2 and not 2.2.1? If it is 2.2.1, then it is going to be a much more difficult process to root because you first need to downgrade it to 2.2.

Read these forums. Most of the questions you could come up with have already been answered.

Upvote 0
If you install them manually then you will not get updates.