Why no full screen option?


Last Updated:

  1. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    I notice this site sits in the "middle of my screen" with half of the screen empty with just a blue background. I've never seen Vbulletin "shrunk" like this.

    Is there a setting I am missing to expand the forums to full width of my monitor as it is on every other forum I access? With most everyone going to large wide screen monitors these days it seems strange to have half my 27" screen empty.

    Maybe it's just me so here is what I'm seeing (see attachment).
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Looks like you have a widescreen monitor.

    It appears as though the site is made to be friendly with the non-widescreen users as well.
     
  3. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    Yes I do and so do a huge number of people these days. But that has nothing to do with it. Virtually every computer sold these days including laptops are widescreen. Even on my kids old 4:3 monitor it's the same but not quite as bad. I frequent MANY VB (and other) forums and they all adjust to your display. They seem to have "hardcoded" the display size here rather then let it adjust. It has t be an option because there are dozens of other vBulletin forums that adjust to the screen width.

    No big deal, I just wondered if I was missing some sort of setup option. It's a shame to waste all that space. That's why I got a 27" WS monitor. :)
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Well I hope you didn't get it to visit the forums, but that does show dedication.

    On my widescreen laptop I also get blue bars but it doesn't seem as bad as yours does. My old traditional screen has very very minimal bars on the sides.
     
  5. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    That's because your laptop screen isn't 27" wide. :) The fact that the forum presentation software is fixed in size is probably the reason why there is less side-space on your laptop than on my 27" display. The forum has probably been optimized for a minimum 15" monitor and the larger it gets the more blue-space there is.
     
  6. PaulMcCartney

    PaulMcCartney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    61
    I like it the way it is. It looks very professional.
     
  7. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    18,874
    It is this way on purpose, yes. To fit the width of the header and be uniformed from top to bottom.

    :)
     
  8. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    if it's really bothering you, just use greasemonkey to change it for yourself
     
  9. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    Sure! Easy! Thanks for the suggestion. :confused:

    If I need to be a script programmer (so it seems after looking at it) it won't happen. Sorry.
     

Share This Page

Loading...