• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Wiring a USB connector to charge phone w/ Solar panel.

I purchased a small solar panel charger today at Harbor Freight, they were on clearance for $6.50!! I read some reviews where people have added a USB plug and they have used it to charge their Android phones. I'm working on doing the same thing.

Solar Panel Recharger

I have above-average knowledge/experience with electronics, but I'm no expert and I still like to make sure I don't eff up my phone. I wanted to confirm that all I really have to do to connect the the positive and negative wires respectively.

This website said something interesting: "Dedicated charger mode:A simple USB charger should short the 2 data lines together. The device will then not attempt to transmit or receive data, but can draw up to 1.8A, if the supply can provide it."

USB pinout and wiring @ pinouts.ru

I don't like the idea of the word "short" but it did say elsewhere: "Contrary to popular belief, D+ and D- operate together; they are not separate simplex connections."
I don't fully understand that statement, but I can see how it relates to shorting the D+ D- wires together and it being just fine.

One more question, the solar panel doesn't have a 5volt setting, just a 3 & 6v setting. I'm assuming that if I use 3v, it won't meet the minimum of 4.75v needed to charge. And I'm assuming the 6v will initiate charging, and that the protective circuits will keep the voltage above 5.75v from damage anything.

Update! Got things wired up this morning and tested it out, first with a dumbphone.