• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Wondering which rom to use with Optimus V

I have the Novatek version of the Optimus V. I'm actually brand new to smart phones BTW

I was wondering, this late in the game, which rom to install on it. I was looking into the cyangenmod 11 kitkat but I've heard of Mirage which I think is based on cyangenmod 7, so may be too outdated. I actually found a list of compatible roms (doesn't show all of them) on a website but I can't post links yet because I'm new to the forum (hi, everyone!).

It lists Backside, Bumblebee, Icsandwich, Sonygenmod, Honey, MIUIHO, Rodimus and Reborn. I'm sure there are others, too.

Considering the size of my phone's ram, only 512MB, I'm wondering what is the best rom to use? Also, I read that Rom Manager was to be avoided at all costs. I've installed Rom Toolbox Lite, so hoping that works better.

2nd question: I hear about people installing Kernels, but aren't the kernels already included in the above mod roms? Very important to know.

3rd question: I read somewhere (can't find it now to save my life) that a phone with limited storage like mine can be expanded to 1GB. Can this be done to the Optimus V? (Most games I look at are sizable and have to install on the system first before they are moved to the sdcard. (Link2sd isn't a help right now, see next question)

4th question: Link2sd fails to run on my phone suddenly (uninstalled, redownloaded, reinstalled, cleaned data and cache, rebooted and so on). But when it was working it couldn't create links for my 2nd partition (tried both fat32 and ext2--highest version I could go) on my sdcard (kept giving me the error "mount script cannot be created"). Nothing I found via Google was adequate (so many tutorials with dead links anyway).