1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 2.3.4 and Sense 3.5 ??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mig1980, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Good day everyone. I have had my EVO for about a year now. I rooted it 6 months ago and stayed with the stock rom.

    I am now looking at going to the latest Android version 2.3.4 because I heard it can allow you to make a call and surf the web at the same time (which is a feature I miss form my iPhone). I would also like to have sense 3.5 since I want a new look and feel of sense.

    What ROM should I flash and how do I do it? I also want a stable rom that has 4G, WIFI, etc functioning correctly (I list of non-working areas for the ROMs would be helpful).

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    first of all our evo will never have the ability of making a call and be on the web at the same time. it is one of the short comings of cdma. if you have a gsm phone then you can do it.

    second sense 3.5 roms are just coming out. they are still in beta stage and some of them a few issues to work out. if you want to try one then try mik's supersonic3d (also know as as runnymede). and since this is a port that is from a verizon phone it will not have 4g working at least not yet.

    if you want to try a sense 3.0 rom, then try mik3d. it is a great rom and very stable and everything works.
     
  3. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    1.ok let me correct myself a little bit. the only time you can get simultaneous data and call connectivity is if you are on 4g only. if your are on 3g then you cannot do it. but with 4g yes you can.

    2.it is i believe 2.3.3 i could be wrong on it. there is the going green rom that is 2.3.5.

    3.yes anytime you flash a rom you will loose data as it is required t wipe data any time you flash a rom. you can read the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html for the how to's on flashing a rom. you can back up your apps with titanium backup and you can backup your text to the sd card with most texting apps. your contacts should be synced with google.
     
  5. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    where can I download mik3D and I have heard good things about ChopSuey 9.2.7, any idea where to download that as well?

    I looked at rooting for dummies. Woupld I have to root my phone again even though I am already rooted?
     
  6. stewdog1

    stewdog1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    Also, if you are connected to a Wifi network then you can talk and have data at the same time.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yes this is true thanx.
     
  8. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    I used Clockwork Mod Recovery v2.6.0.1 to root initally. Do I have to use the complete method that is mentioned in rooting for dummies or can I simply load the rom through the version of Clockwork that I have?
     
  9. Yeh Im Legit

    Yeh Im Legit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    You do not have to re root... Just flash the new ROM after wiping or running a wipe.zip I would switch to anom ra for your recovery because a lot of those new ROMs don't play well with clockwork... There are tutorials for all of this in the stickies on this forum
     
    ocnbrze and DaRayvn like this.
  10. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    switch your recovery to Amon Ra....clockwork mod is just gonna cause you problems...
     
  11. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    how do I switch my recovery to Amon Ra? I took a look at a few posts on the XDA site but wanted to see if you guys had different recommendations.
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  13. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    So I flashed Mik3D on my phone and Chopsuey kernel. I love the phone so far. Not sure what exactly the kernel flash does but everything I have tried seems to be working great.

    I am curious. I have read about 3Gturbocharger and v6supercharger. Any idea what that is about? Also, what should i notice with the latest Chopsuey kernel?

    Thanks
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    for me with kernels i look for performance and battery life. so with performance, how does the phone feel. can i overclock and underclock it?

    and with battery life, it is: what governor does the kernel have? do i need a screen off profile? how long does the battery last?

    those are the things i look for.

    as far as the 3gturbo and v6 supercharger scripts go. i have not tried the 3g turbo yet, but the v6 supercharger does make your phone run a little faster. it really is not that much of a noticeable difference, but it just feels faster sometimes.
     
  15. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Do you know if Chopsuey 9.2.7 has 3g turbo or v6 supercharged baked in?
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i do not see the changelog for it yet. but i'm pretty sure that it does not. it would have been in the op on xda.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...