• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

A home screen replacement based on simplicity

Bryter layter

Lurker
Jul 13, 2010
Simple Home (Seach for "Simple Home" on Android market)

The Android home replacement that focuses on simplicity! I have developed a home screen replacement which I consider to be 1. Light/lightweight 2. Simple and 3. Fast. It is nothing fancy at all, but it focuses on quickly finding your apps, which is the key feature of the launcher. I used to be a developer on a big home replacement project and there I came to the conclusion that a lot of the stuff in the regular launcher (and in other replacements) is really not necessary.

Examples:
- Live wallpaper, a very nice feature which gives the user some eye candy behind the launcher. However, in the long run, this feature usually drains your battery, currently one of bigger problems with Android phones, and does really not add anything that an app is not capable of doing.
- Widgets, nice little mini-apps that you can place on your desktop. These does as well not add any functionality that an app won't give you. I kind of liked the toggle widgets at first, but once I found the in-app toggle apps I now consider these to be superfluous as well.
- Folders, well this I think depends on what kind of a person you are. I can of course understand the joy of organizing your stuff in neat folders and so on but I am generally more the "auto-arrange" kind a guy. I like it when things are automatically nice a tidy and when an system gives you that option I don't see any reason not to use it. I used to have an Iphone, where it was nice in the beginning to re-arrange apps and create new pages/sections. But after a while, when installing more and more apps, it just became tedious to do the re-arrangements. I couldn't get a clear overview and I had to move a lot of apps to get somewhere near a setup that worked ok. Auto-arrange ftw.