1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android OS Questions

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Geography_Box, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. Geography_Box

    Geography_Box Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016

    Jul 15, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi everyone, first post.

    I am wondering first if there is a way to revert the cut/paste buttons back to their respective symbols rather than the bulky, annoying words. Not to mention that the Select All button is hidden behind a drop down list. More button taps equals less efficient productivity. See pic.

    2016-07-15_10.41.41.jpg

    Addendum, whilst using the Blackberry Priv and updating the OS to 6.0, the button to turn off data service from the drop down menu has vanished. Any fixes?


    2016-07-15_11.22.08.jpg

    Thanks for reading!
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    #1 Geography_Box, Jul 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016
  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,391
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,391
    15,677
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You say "revert", so when did this change? Is it a feature of the Priv, or something that happened with an update? These things aren't the same on all phones, so it's useful to tell us the device and OS version.

    That said, if this is something that changed with an OS update, without rooting and modifying the OS (at the simplest, replacing graphics in one of the system apks) I would expect that you can't revert it.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. Geography_Box

    Geography_Box Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016

    Jul 15, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I've noticed this change with Samsung devices as well. I got the Priv with a 5.0 version of Lollipop, & it underwent a hefty update to the current 6.0.1 Marsh. That is when I noticed the change.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,391
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,391
    15,677
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Unfortunately the only MM device in my household has gone on holiday with my daughter, so I can't compare directly (though she was telling me last night that the new "charging" screen on her phone since the last update, likely a HTC thing, is a pain in the proverbial).

    In fact my tablet has icon+text, and is on 5.1.1, but I always assumed that was because of the much bigger screen compared to my phone (which is on 5.0.2 and icon only). But unless there's something hidden deep in the (manufacturer-specific) user interface settings I doubt there's much you can do.
     
  5. Geography_Box

    Geography_Box Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016

    Jul 15, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I found a slight workaround to the data toggle button issue with an app that can perform various similar functions. It only opens the page however, but it remains much faster.

    I suppose the only way to solve this would be to revert back to the phone's original OS. Factory reset restores the current one, already tried twice to prevent it. Is changing the OS on an Android even possible in this way?
     
  6. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,072
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,072
    1,028
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    I have the words (not icons) cut and paste on my nexus 6 running 6.0.1. So yeah, it probably was part of a Google os update. Yeah, I agree the icons make more sense since they're more readily distinguishable from the text..... but I can't get too excited about it either way.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. kct1975

    kct1975 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    1,200
    1,053
    523
    Male
    NoVA
    Just FYI...change from the Icons to the text for the Copy, Cut, Paste menu was a change that came with Marshmallow
     
  8. YML123

    YML123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015

    Dec 31, 2015
    5
    2
    6
    Hi all,
    I'm actually having issues with using Tapatalk ever since I upgraded from Droid Maxx to S7. When I try to get into certain forums, it just keeps endlessly refreshing and loading in an endless loop. Anyone else have this problem? Luckily, this forum DOES work so perhaps I'll have some luck [emoji3]
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,391
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,391
    15,677
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    To be honest I gave up on Tapatalk a long time ago. When I visit this forum from my phone I just use a browser (though that's partly because I used to be staff, and certain functions never worked reliably with forum apps).
     
  10. YML123

    YML123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015

    Dec 31, 2015
    5
    2
    6
    Hmm. That's annoying lol
     
  11. Geography_Box

    Geography_Box Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016

    Jul 15, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    It looks like there is no way around these issues without downgrading the OS. Especially since Blackberry makes it difficult to root their phones. Does anyone have a method to downgrade my device's OS from Marshmallow to Lollipop?
     

Share This Page

Loading...