• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Any new alternate calendar applications?

Pimlical Android used with Pimlical Desktop. It's not a new app, but it has improved over the last year or so especially related to syncing. It now syncs directly to your desktop by cable through its Desktop app. Recently added Memos, and Contacts are reported to be coming soon.

I have been using this developers apps for several years (Palm OS devices for several years) and would highly recommend them.

Upvote 0
Entries older than a couple months, all the exceptions to a recurring entry.

Calendars and syncing different ones with recurring events always seems an issue, at least in part. I personally run Outlook on my PC and use MyPhoneExplorer to sync via wifi to my phone. I use the ggogle accounts for contacts and calendar on the phone, but I 'freeze' the google.(calendar/bookmarks/contacts).sync apps using Titanium Backup to ensure that nothing is sync'ed to google (though just turning off Google sync does the same thing).

Works for me and I can sync ALL events in my calendar (I can choose this period) to my phone.

HTH

Dave

Upvote 0
Thats why I'm thinking I'm goig to need a calendar app on the phone as well since the build in calendar will have the google imposed limitations.

My calendar outgrew outlook back in 1998 when I hit the 2G .pst limit with a separate .pst file dedicated to just the calendar. I split it out into multile .ics files then imported those into google so it works somewhat for now.

If I could find somehting that would simply open and use an ics file on android (not just import) then I could just sync the files back and forth.

Upvote 0
Thats why I'm thinking I'm goig to need a calendar app on the phone as well since the build in calendar will have the google imposed limitations.