1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root anybody got bettercut launching the contacts app?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cggorman, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    I create the shortcut fine, but when I click it, it says the application doesn't exist. I did delete/rename a few /system/apps but nothing that should affect bettercut's ability to resolve the link. I can launch the contacts app fine using the stock shortcut...but I like having custom icons....
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    I have the same problem as you... Does the same thing with Terminal emulator pro short cut too... My guess is it is the app...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
  4. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL
    It works fine for me.

    CM 5.0.6.2
     
  5. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    So you are able to create an icon for the Contacts app and use it? That is were I'm having problems with it (just like what the OP describes)...
     
  6. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    i don't really use bettercut anymore but i just created a shortcut for contacts and it launch my contacts with no problem.
     
  7. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    Yes... that is what I said. ;)
     
  8. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    just tried and it worked fine creating a contacts shortcut (and using it obviously) i got BB 0.9 and using helix launcher



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Just to be sure we're talking apples/apples here... You guys that have it working are calling up the entire contacts app, not an individual contact, right?

    NexTheme ESE81 R3 and Helix 2 with everything on /system/app still intact.

    That brings up another interesting thing... BB 0.9 is ESE53, right? How about CM 5.0.6.2?

    Maybe it's a 2.1 problem.
     
  10. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    yes it pulls my full contact list and i am running Fab's nextheme r3 rom
     
  11. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    CM 5.0.6.2 is based off of source so it isn't really a 2.1 ROM... It is listed as 2.1 in about phone for market compatability reasons... So I don't think it is a 2.1 based issue... I'm starting to think it might be a Helix 2 issue.
     
  12. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    yes i made a shortcut to the full contacts list and it worked fine for me.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    WTF? That's the exact same ROM and ver. that I'm running! I'm stumped.

    You went thru "shortcuts/bettercut/activity" to build the shortcut, right?
     
  14. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ

    Are you using Helix or Helix 2 by any chance?
     
  15. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    I've had the same problem since before I got Helix 2. Currently running Helix 2, but have also tried stock home, Helix 1, and Sweeter Home 2 Beta...all with same results. In fact, in some cases, bettercut has created the shortcuts in the wrong home APP. For instance, I'll create it in SH2 and BC will drop the shortcut on page 1 of Helix 2. Weird.

    Other than this one shortcut and an inability to create custom shortcuts (it FCs), bettercut seems to be working fine with my install of Helix 2
     
  16. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    411
    47
    43
    Bloomer, WI
    I'm running Helix 2 and I use Better Cut and I've had no problems at all. I've created the contact icon going through shortcuts->Better Cut->Activity and I have a "contacts" icon working on my Helix 2 home screen. I've also done it by opening Bettercut and editing the icon (assuming it's already on my home screen). Not sure if it matters in this case, but I'm not rooted (not yet at least).
     
  17. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Nope, root doesn't seem to matter. We've got shortcut failures on both sides of the divide....with differing ROMs and bases, and even home apps. There must be a common link, though...
     
  18. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    [​IMG]
     
  19. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68

    This made me laugh so hard.lol
     
  20. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    yes and i am running the helix 2
     
  21. DGalt

    DGalt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    367
    8
    36
    having same issue with using NexBeast R3 and Helix1
     
  22. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Damn, put down the coffee cup, dude! :p
     
  23. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    Damnit, it always has to come to this. First people accuse me of having A.D.D, then someone says I'm hyper... all these accusations that I just don't... whoa look, a bird! Did you guys see that? That thing was huge!
     

Share This Page

Loading...