1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Anybody have 2 browsers on their phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chuck1906, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    I have the pre installed browser and a week ago installed Skyfire the app that will play SOME flash content. Whenever I go on certain websites like Facebook, it will ask me which browser to use. So I select one, then the box comes up every couple seconds asking me to choose which browser to choose after I already selected one of them! This is so frustrating some times! I don't want to make skyfire my default since its still in Beta stages.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bp328i

    bp328i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    346
    39
    43
    Florida
    If you select Skyfire as your default you can clear the choice anytime you want by going into Setting>Applications>Manage Applications>Skyfire>clear defaults
     
  3. Dmordarski

    Dmordarski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    60
    3
    16
    Or just click the use always box at the bottom of the selection box when it pops up
     
  4. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere
    I have both Skyfire and the stock browser. I use the stock browser as my default and when I need to view a video I switch to Skyfire. Just hit the check box when it asks for you to pick a browser and make the stock one your default. It has worked well for me doing it that way. If I know I am going to a site with a video I will just start out using Skyfire.
     
  5. WJ1023

    WJ1023 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    52
    0
    15
    I have 4. Dolphin HD, Xscope, Skyfire and the stock browser. X and dolphin seem a bit faster. I keep skyfire for the flash. After Froyo we shouldnt need any other browser if the changes live up to expectations. Increased browser speed and flash 10.1...
     
  6. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Stock browser for everything but YouTube, there I use Skyfire. I just make sure skyfire is disabled after use as it seems to suck on the battery.
     
  7. snapcase

    snapcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    449
    69
    53
    I tried Skyfire, more than once. I uninstalled it because it hardly ever played a video and was a buggy piece of crap. I was disappointed to say the least.

    I have Dolphin installed and it works reasonably well. I also have Dolphin HD to test it out but will probably uninstall that since they actually removed features from Dolphin just so you'd have to add them as separate extensions (that also take up a space in your app drawer).
     
  8. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    snapcase, I was able to watch a video that was emailed to me by using Skyfire. I also was able to watch various flash videos on Mtv.com's website with no problem either so it must have been the sites you were going to that were giving you trouble.
     
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    I have my stock browser, dolphin HD, and opera mini.
     
  10. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Stock and Opera mini. Opera is my default, though I wish it could handle video, otherwise I'm pretty pleased with it.
     
  11. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Stock and Dolphin HD, though really Dolphin's just more sluggish and a bit glitchy right now on Froyo. If only stock had tabbed browsing...
     
  12. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,891
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,891
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Stock with Flash? Sorry on 2.2 :cool:
     
  13. damule6666

    damule6666 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    281
    26
    63
    Head Bottle washer!
    Right behind YOU!
    XScope and Dolphin HD
     
  14. KidFlash

    KidFlash Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    104
    13
    38
    Stock. I've tried others, but stock always seemed to run the fastest and least buggy, especially on 2.2 with Flash!
     
  15. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    3 at the moment.
     
  16. Ally305

    Ally305 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    47
    1
    16
    Georgia :(
    I have 2.

    The stock browser and xScope Lite. I've used Opera and Dolphin Browser before.
     
  17. klwheat

    klwheat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    172
    5
    36
    I use the stock browser and dolphin HD. Every once in a while...it just pops up and asks me which i want to use also. Kinda annoying...but never really bothered to try to fix it...lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...