1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Astro connection to wifi network

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Vlip, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. Vlip

    Vlip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I have read all the online help for Astro file manager (and sent e-mail to the developer) but could not find any instructions for doing what I'm trying to do. I want to browse the file system of my windows home server and possibly my windows PC over my home wifi. I could do it easily on my old HTC Touch Pro and Touch Pro 2 using Resco File Manager on WinMo 6.5. There is a network icon on the Astro toolbar but when I press that, I get three icons: one that says "New" and one for wifi icon and one for bluetooth icon. When I press the new button, I get a pop-up dialog for "Add Connection". The choices are "SFTP", "SMB" and "BlueTooth". At that point, I am lost. the wifi and bluetooth buttons are for managing each respectively. I've installed the SMB addon but still cannot figure out how to do this.
    Can anyone help?

    Thanks,
    Vlip
     

    Advertisement

  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #71
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,520
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    I read the SMB module in Astro doesn't work on Vista, not sure about Windows 7.

    I switched to ES file explorer, it works with both.
     
    Vlip likes this.
  3. Vlip

    Vlip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I have windows 7 on all my PCs. I can't tell whether it would work or not, when I press either SMB or SFTP, I'm faced with questions I don't know how to answer. I will try ES file explorer.

    Thanks,
    Vlip
     
  4. dax66

    dax66 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Windows 7 works temporarily and very much delayed when it works.
    Like ES file explorer needs Scan before you go, Astro needs sometimes Test.

    ES file explorer the best of my dreams.
     

Share This Page

Loading...