1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [AT&T] rooting gs4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ron316, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    i have been reading and reading what is the best way to root my gs4 with the new update were s a good place for files and info i cant seem to find odin5 that they keep talking about any help would be great.also i have on you tube to root to google
     

    Advertisement

  2. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    Carrier and current firmware?
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,159
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah if you could post which variant of the gs4 you have I'll be happy to point you in the right direction. :)
     
  4. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    model sgh-i337m version 4.2.2 telus canada thanks
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,159
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    The telus is practically identical to the at&t, they've just put an m at the end of the model number so I've moved this to the at&t all things root. Others there should be best equipped to help you out:)
     
    ron316 likes this.
  6. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    ok thanks
     
  7. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hi Ron :ciao:

    Check this CF-Auto-Root thread. Use Odin to install it. Get Odin here and extract the files. If you aren't sure how to use odin you can look at this guide. Just don't use the files in that guide (except Odin). They are not for your phone.
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  8. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    ok thanks
     
  9. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    ok now that im rooted whats next.that google rom that i see looks cool
     
  10. Midiman

    Midiman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    238
    36
    43
    Male
    Professional musician, photographer, computer prog
    Upstate, NY
    Well... now you've killed your ability to get OTA updates and it's time to decide what else you want to kill with all those fabulous roms.
     
  11. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    As long as he unroots first and doesn't delete any system apps, there'll be no problem with future OTAs. Telus does not have a locked bootloader like AT&T.
     
  12. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    ok thanks for all the replies
     
  13. schemppjr80

    schemppjr80 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    210
    39
    43
    Male
    stay at home dad currently
    west Melbourne, FL

    Will this method wrk with the i337 v. (The att version)...
    Thx in advance
     
  14. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    im not sure if att& t still as locked bootloader. youll have to check around
     
    schemppjr80 likes this.
  15. schemppjr80

    schemppjr80 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    210
    39
    43
    Male
    stay at home dad currently
    west Melbourne, FL

    Right on I will but my luck is that it is still locked...I was just trying to c if by some chance that method wrks 4 my phone. Its branded as an att phone but is unlocked and running on the t-metro (t-mobile and metro pcs) network so I wasnt sure but Ill ask around and thx
     
  16. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    A root method for AT&T S4 with MF3 baseband (the current 4.2.2 build) with locked bootloader is now available: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2387577

    Bear in mind however, that AT&T has announced an OTA to 4.3 is scheduled to roll out in October. Rooting now will likely either prevent the OTA or unroot your device. Of course, if you root now, you can always freeze the update program and wait until a root exploit is available for the new version (or stay at 4.2.2). Your choice.
     
  17. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    just root the updates are never that great anyway developer roms are better to me anyway i just install google4.3 rom on mine now its greaton my i337m.i was going to mention xda but wasnt sure if it was alound to say
     
  18. ron316

    ron316 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    131
    4
    56
    sorry double posted
     

Share This Page

Loading...