1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

available Android global phones

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by trophynuts, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    I already know about the Droid2Global, and the Droid Pro.

    My question is this:

    Will the 4g android phones coming out (Thunderbolt and Bionic) be available to use globally? For some reason i'm just assuming that 4g will allow a phone to work globally.

    Is that a safe assumption?
     

    Advertisement

  2. najaboy

    najaboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    390
    68
    53
    No, it is not. Even in the U.S., for instance, you wouldn't be able to use a MetroPCS LTE phone on Verizon's LTE network.
     
  3. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    well that sux...as a frequent traveler out of the US, my only android options are the D2global or the droid pro.

    right now i have the DX and when i travel out of the us i swap back to my Bold 9650...its such a turn off having to do that.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    im considering selling my Dx and my Bold and buying the D2global, but i really haven't kept up with that phone much.
     
  5. Dakota - Tom

    Dakota - Tom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    109
    15
    38
    MN
    I have the D2G and am very happy with it. It is slightly faster than your DX, but it has a smaller screen. While the screen is smaller, the resolution is the same so (to me) the D2G's screen looks better. The physical keyboard is very nice... a big improvement over the original Droid but perhaps not up to BB standards.

    If you're into non-standard software, it seems like the DX has a larger "hacker" community ...
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    yeah i think your right on the hacker community. Mine is rooted running Apex 1.4.1

    I briefly read over some posts and it seemed like there weren't a lot of Roms yet for the D2G.

    i guess i'm just wondering if i can get used to that smaller screen after using the DX since launch.
     
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    Hmmmm. Well HTC just announced the Merge officially and it willb a global device on vzw
     

Share This Page

Loading...