• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

AVD settings for tablet

SillyPants

Lurker
Dec 13, 2011
Hi, I am new to Android development and am struggling making the transition from desktop development. The coding isn't much of a transition because I've coded in Java before. However, I'm having a few problems I was hoping maybe someone could point me in the right direction on.

I am working on writing my first tablet app. It is a fairly simple, straightforward data entry application. It is, however, a bit tedious in that there is a fair amount of data being entered and the data is a bit unusual in that it requires frequent switching form upper-case to lower-case letters, numbers, and various special characters and must be entered very rapidly as it is a time critical process. In all, there are about 200 controls, consisting of about 100 textboxes, some containing potentially several paragraphs of text and about another 100 various combo-boxes, grouped radio-buttons, checkboxes, etc. I would like to keep the app compressed onto a couple of screens because the user doesn't have time to keep hitting, next, next, next, etc.

The data will be keyed in, validated, the user prompted for an electronic signature, and the data transferred to a central database. If the computer is out of range, it will instead encrypt the data and store it in a local database until it gets back in range and then pull it out, de-crypt it, and transfer it to the central database.